We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value lunch establishment”
Review of Heaton, Butler and Bayne - CLOSED

Heaton, Butler and Bayne
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Cross street: Entrance Floral Street
Transit: 2 minutes from Leicester Square or Covent Garden underground.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good value lunch establishment”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Note firstly that you enter from Floral Street- it is easy to go past it hunting in Garrick Street: it is in fact exactly opposite The Garrick Club. We went for the set Sunday lunch. My bavette steak was huge and tender, though my wife's fishcake was a little solid and lacking on the mustard sauce front. The puddings were inventive and overall a good experience- would return again- excellent value for money- but keep to the meat ! iIt did not have as much atmosphere as its sister restaurant nearby- Le Deuxieme ( & their starters were more inventive)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    63
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with excellent service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this restaurant for a birthday celebration and loved it. The restaurant has a great ambience and the service is really good and attentive. The Fixed menus offered good choices at a a very reasonable price and overall this was excellent value for money. We will definitely return to this gem of a restaurant as it is in a perfect location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Just had Sunday lunch here. I went a la carte with my mother going from the set menu. Bith are extremely good in taste and value for money. The atmosphere is relaxing, with attentive staff. A goodnfind for when shopping in London, and want some fuel for even more. Just plan ahead, I would suggest a booking is necessary.

Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quality food and value for money”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were looking for a restaurant on the edge of Covent Garden and found the Forge near Leicester Square. Decor, ambience and service gave good expectation and the food more than met our ideals. No problem dealing with my Coeliac requirements. Overall food and wine were excellent and provided better than average value for money in this part of London.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing find”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We did not get into a nearby restaurant in the covent garden area, so the hostess recommended The Forge. What a fantastic surprise! We both enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. the room featured table linens, yay, wood floors with brick walls and cool turquoise seats. Lunch was completely booked.

My husband and I both ordered sea food...he the dover sole, which was enough for two, and I the halibut...prepared to perfection. We shared a salad, which was plenty and were offered bread. They also had a nice wine selection. We found we didn't want to leave....We had coffee, but had to leave to catch a show. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank browneydlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heaton, Butler and Bayne also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing