We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional pub”

The Hand and Shears Public House
Ranked #5,659 of 28,474 Restaurants in London
Neighborhood: City of London
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City of London
Reviewed June 26, 2019

One of many pubs in the Smithfield area. It has several smallish areas for quiet drinks. The service and the beer was good and the atmosphere was great

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ianfrank2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 60 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2019

Small and toward the outskirts of the city, this pub is one of my favorites. It has a cosy, historic atmosphere. Friendly staff and good beer. Not good for wine, but good for beer.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Mason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

Great beer and relaxed atmosphere. highly recommended watering hole.
Good for meeting friends.
despite being close to the city give the feeling you have escaped for a moment

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Daydream18697507813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2018

Before My visit, I was worried about my journey to this place, but my visit made me more confident and hopeful, A Great experience here, Learn many new things. I get to introduce to new tastes and categories.Will plan to visit again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank mosniccky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Great little pub, popular with business and local community. Staff are friendly and there is live music which adds to the ambiance.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank FarAway779679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hand and Shears Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Hand and Shears Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing