We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel the texture”
Review of Texture

Texture
Reserve with OpenTable
Texture is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $101
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: Texture is award winning Michelin starred restaurant and champagne bar. Texture's cuisine style is modern European with Scandinavian influences and focuses on combining and emphasising different consistencies. Agnar Sverrisson's roots are demonstrated in the inclusion of ingredients such as Icelandic Cod, Icelandic Lamb from Skagafjordur, Icelandic herbs and Icelandic skyr. The regular tasting menu further showcases Sverrisson's creativity in the kitchen and a set lunch offers unrivalled value. The Texture Champagne Bar welcomes diners for pre-dinner aperitifs or those who want to take advantage of our extraordinary Champagne and Wine list. Texture's private events space offers an intimate private dining for 16 guests. Additionally, prior to your lunch or dinner booking at the Tolli Room, Texture can offer a wine tasting experience, individually tailored to your event
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Feel the texture”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had the tasting menu, and I echo the comments of other reviews... attentive, expert restaurant staff, discrete but not intimidating environment, great wines (the only restaurant I've ever been in with three pages of Rieslings...) matched well to the superbly constructed, well presented and beautifully tasting food. The design of the dishes was experimental and daring in the flavours used and combined; the pea and mint tea starter was a prime example of this, and worked superbly. But this wasn't allowed to detract from the core flavours and textures of the excellent beef, fish, quail and vegetables - which were all top of their class. I've read some other tasting menus in other restaurants and felt intimidated. Texture is not like this; the focus on excellence in taste and ingredients shows through. As does the professional team. Great choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BravoJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    124
    47
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Feels good”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just had a superb meal at Texture to celebrate husband's birthday.
We both had the veggie tasting menu with matching wines. Dishes were daring, occasionally over complicated (e.g beetroot with goats cheese dish also had very garlicky sauce and oily parmesan croutons). Wines were trendy whites, with three rieslings involved.
Sommelier very good.
Go early for a glass of Champagne in the bar beforehand!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank htta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Texture restaurant London”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had the taster menu and is was delicious. Seven courses on the menu but because the chef wasn't happy with one of them we got an extra one while we waited.. Thats what I call service.! The staff were attentive without being over the top. Good wine and champagne. Lovely not to have everything covered in rich sauces and you could taste the flavours in the food. So all in all a very enjoyable evening. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great vegetarian tasting menu”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had planned on having the set lunch, but the tasting menu looked great, so we had it insead.

The crisps with yoghurt and barley dip were a great start to a splendid meal. None of the courses disappointed. As other reviewers have stated, clean, fresh flavours. The portions are heartier than you get with some tasting menus, but you don't come away feeling over full.

Highlights - pea mousse; a shot of gazpacho with lemongrass sorbet; the passionfruit soup and the fisherman's friend petit fours (that made me laugh). The only thing I didn't like was the seaweed yoghurt butter - but I don't like seaweed - but it looked very lovely spead on a large pebble. My partner lashed it on the bread and really liked it.

Staff are friendly and enthousiastic. The dining room has a lovely Adam ceiling.

Pricey, but less so if you have the set lunch, but we will definitely go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible. My new favourite London restaurant.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Texture is amazing. We live so close and drive past every day for years but never bothered to go in. The trouble is, Texture is in the same building as a hotel and it isn't so appealing from the outside. I'm so glad I took a risk, this place is amazing. Michelin star food, impeccable service, what's not to love? It was brilliant, modern and inspiring. If only i could take home the seaweed yogurt butter with me and that bread. Oh the bread...

If you're a foodie - Go! It's amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBD1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texture also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Texture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing