We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting...”

Vietnam Oriental Chinese Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Greenwich
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting...”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stumbled across this place just before heading up to the Meantime Brewery tour - and made a note of it's location to visit after. Having been to Vietnam a couple of times, we both love the food and it is always a nice surprise to see a restaurant serving the cuisine (they seem few and far between in the places that we've been to in the UK).

On entering, we were led to a table and given menus - at which point it became very obvious that this was not a Vietnamese restaurant at all! The only food from Vietnam that I could see on there was Vietnamese Spring Rolls as a starter. They were good, to be fair. It's just a shame that the food was not as "advertised" (why call a restaurant that when it just serves Chinese food?!), and that the staff were slightly indifferent to our being there. The service charge added to the bill also added to the overall experience!

To be fair, we were served decent food at a late hour, but the points above meant that we both left feeling a little disappointed by the experience

Decent food, but don't be fooled by the name - it's 'just' a Chinese restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cultural_Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    36
    19
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great service ! great food ...we had the all you can eat buffet ,you choose from the menu as to what you want and continue to do this all evening !! £15 per head ,
.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank walesdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Suprisingly authentic & tasty”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were looking for somewhere for dimsum in Greenwich and this seemed like the only place. The place was empty when we went in there and we were abit worried as we thought it would be a bit rubbish and very touristy due to its location in Greenwich. Pleasantly suprised. My wife is Chinese so she ordered a range of dishes which we would have ordered at a restaurant in China. The staff were amusing and not the best but were fun to deal with. The food was the overall winner and the price wasnt bad either for a lot of food including 2 bottles of wine and dim sum inc service we paid £120. Worth a visit if you want a good Chinese meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamAnnieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quick service”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

There is a large selection on the menu, be careful on the dishes chosen as they are heavy with the chilli!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison_Welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Why do you mislead us?”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Dim Sum! The food is freshly made. Taste good. Perfect for a lunch break before exploring the little Greenwich town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkieTalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Oriental Chinese Restaurant also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing