We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Spanish food, extremely good value - a hidden gem”

Andalucia Tapas Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Andalucia Tapas Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,914 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Spanish food, extremely good value - a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

After my second visit in a fortnight, i thought i felt compelled to write about this great little find hidden amongst the usual chains in the west end.
It's not by any means an extensive menu, but what they do is simply delicious. It beats many of the other so called tapas places hands down (i have a spanish mother in law; i'm very fussy about my spanish food). The food is incredibly tasty, fresh and moreish. The wine list is adequate and very well priced. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The decor is simple, but as someone else wrote this is just a little family run restaurant without many frillys (they let the food do the talking). I do hope it survives the current economic climate as when we went it was half full. If you like Tapas, i'd urge you to try this little gem of a place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antandsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    141
    46
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Extremely good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The menu was not enormous but the tapas were excellent, wine list was reasonable and the service was fast, friendly and efficient. Very good value, especially in the West End and perfect for pre-theatre meals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“It's exactly what it says it is......!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

So, just to explain why it's 4 stars for me.....

It's not an expensive, michelin starred West End glitzy restaurant.
It's not a themed tourist trap despite it's location.
It doesn't pretend to be anything but a small family run (?) basic restaurant with a fairly limited menu.

What it is however, is a comfortable, friendly and informal place to have some good food at a lower price than most places within the locality. It's actually exactly what it says it is which is why I've given it a high rating.

I agree with one of the previous reviewers that tapas is an expensive way to eat. In Spain, it's cheap (or free!) - in the UK we've talked it up into small snacks at a cost that's more like a starter. That said, the portions here are generous, and the food is freshly cooked. Plenty of garlic as well......

There are larger dishes available and from what we could see, these looked good value. Also a deal on a two course set menu which looked good.

Wine is a bit overpriced but there was a good house Rioja which you probably wouldn't find in a pub.

Very simple layout tables and chairs in a small area, but really clean and the service was friendly.

It ticked all the boxes for us as a pre-theatre light lunch and a glass of wine. Would definitely come back and see what it's like in the evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love the food and very reasonable for the West End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you're in the centre of London's West End and are looking for good value for money and decent Spanish tapas then definitely go for a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sports-Physio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful value for money food in the heart of London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

5 of us meet every Monday to go to see a film. We love this restaurant and go at least once a month. Reasonably priced tapas - cooked well, especially the mushrooms, calamari and chicken. Great salads, puddings and wine.
We find the staff friendly and easy going.
For the center of London, it cannot be beaten.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andalucia Tapas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andalucia Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing