We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
15
21
25
21
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
21
25
21
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssightseeing tripmain roadtransport linksstayed for two nightsroom was spotlessmarble archgood sizeunderground stationfamily roomrooms are smalloxford streetmulticultural
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 117 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2017

A rare trip to London and am usually careful about where we stay. This popped up on booking.com and seemed a good price.
But I didn't read trip advisor so that'll teach me...
Hotel was part of a cafe on the ground floor, all looked smart and nice. Then they told us to go to level -1 so the basement beckoned.
The room was clean and smart. But we have cats and couldn't have swung one... It was so small one of us had to sit on the bed out of the way for the other to move around. And the same choice of disinfectant as Virgin Train toilets was unfortunate and to be honest it was like it just masked the smell of other peoples poo. It was a smell we couldn't live with even for the limited time we planned to be there. And as we in the basement, it didn't have a window. This was not made clear when we booked or would have gone elsewhere
The young woman on the desk was very helpful but couldn't move us so we left for another hotel.
We appreciate that basement rooms are not uncommon in London however it would be useful to say in advance if this is what is being booked. Some people really don't like them and most people would like to know. And please change that disinfectant...!!
We never did find out where the locked door in our room led to!! The ministry of magic? A Virgin train? We'll never know...

Room Tip: Do check if you are going into one of the dungeon rooms and just say no....
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Williamkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp W, General Manager at Maitrise Hotel Edgware Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear Williamkidd. Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you found our property and the room clean and smart. As pointed out in your review basement rooms are common in central London however all our rooms still feature all the necessary equipment that you need for a comfortable stay. The sliding door in your room only houses a fuse board for the coffee shop above and therefore should be locked. Kind regards Philipp Weiss – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Overly hot room with terrible air con, the room was so noisy I checked to see if I'd left the windows open, could even hear the pedestrian crossing beeping, cleanliness not too special we found a newspaper dated 23 Aug and our stay was 2 weeks later and then there was breakfast, cold coffee served in flasks when it's a coffee shop, toast for two on one plate, visit London frequently, only good thing about their hotel is how close it is to the tube

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank vad282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp W, General Manager at Maitrise Hotel Edgware Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017


Dear vad282. Thank you for your review. Our hotel is situated in central London so some traffic noise has to be expected. All rooms come with air-conditioning which just has been serviced and is in working order. Regards Philipp Weiss – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

We walked past this hotel whilst looking for it as it looks like a coffee shop - which in essence is what it is masquerading as an hotel. Photographs are deceiving making it look far more spacious than it actually is. The rooms, whilst ok, are exceptionally hot - and that was with the air conditioning on - so we spent two incredibly uncomfortable nights in this place. On top of that the noise from the Edgware Rd is so loud we thought we'd got the window open - we hadn't - so traffic and sirens was the order throughout each night. Breakfast on our first morning was beyond appalling. Tables had not been relayed following earlier covers, had to ask twice for cups and saucers. Supplies not topped up so had to ask for boiled eggs. Coffee stewed and luke warm. Asked for brown toast - somebody had to run down to Sainsburys to buy the bread - then served same bread barely warm and passed it off as toast. No side plates. Then once we'd given up all hope and had eaten said 'toast' the boiled eggs arrived! Shambolic. My advice would be to steer clear of this place - there are many other hotels to chose from. This one wouldn't make anyone's choice list

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Sheznez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp W, General Manager at Maitrise Hotel Edgware Road, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear Sheznex. Thank you for your review. Our Edgware road property is located in central London next to Edgware Road underground and other famous landmarks therefore a certain degree of traffic noise has to be expected. Our breakfast offering is currently under review and can only apologise should this not have passed your high standards. Regards Philipp Weiss – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

If I hadn't have booked this hotel through the Best Western phone service I wouldn't have believed it was linked with any brand or global standards but as we were only in London for a couple of nights and I used my points to make the booking the room was in essence free...

We were glad also of being upgraded to the family suite as there are 4 of us on the trip but a small double bed and a single that was just big enough for our 7 year old son wasn't really what was expected from this global chain.

The bathroom was fitted out ok but it would have helped if it was actually possible to open the shower door and sit on the toilet without wedging yourself in but as the room was so small ...

Breakfast was a 'continental style' but was limited to 1 of each item and hamburger square cheese but the staff were friendly enough and despite trying to charge for a decaf coffee on the first morning attentive and pleasant...

Night security was very evident and although the door to the room did lack a chain or similar was comfortable with the arrangements.

The beds, despite being small were actually fairly comfortable but as I have no idea of the actual rack rate (nor will I be looking) I couldn't comment if good value for money.

Great location for access to the subways and with a bus stop outside very easy to get around town on public transport but be aware that the area is not what some people would expect from being 'in London' and so close to national landmarks and open spaces...

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank 6foot8Chrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp W, General Manager at Maitrise Hotel Edgware Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review, am pleased to read that we were able to upgrade you to a larger room (free of charge) and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We provide 24 hour reception cover to ensure that our guests and the property is looked after. Central London can be very busy at times and attracts all kind of nationalities so I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the positioning of the hotel. Regards Philipp Weiss – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

Here on holiday, stayed 2 nights in the hotel. From the outside the hotel doesn't look great as it's situated in a cafe with reception in the corner of the face however we really liked our room. It didn't have any windows and we were in the basement (if that bothers you make sure you tell then when booking to get a alternative room) the room was modern and clean, shower was fantastic as we're the staff who were helpful. It was really closer to lord crickey ground and madam tusades and easy to access the underground stations to most of the city. As a relatively cheap base to explore London I would come here again.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Isa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp W, General Manager at Maitrise Hotel Edgware Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear Isa W. Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Edgware property, indeed the hotel is based in Central London so an ideal base if you want to explore London and all its sites. We work hard to ensure that our hotels are looked after so I am pleased that you enjoyed our modern and clean room. Our staff pride themselves with genuine hospitality so I am very happy to hear that you found our team friendly and helpful. Best wishes Philipp Weiss – General Manager Maitrise hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews