We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good & different food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addis Ethiopian Restaurant

Addis Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #8,279 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,663 reviews
950 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 864 helpful votes
“Very good & different food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We dropped in here for late dinner on Friday with one of our grown-up sons who is mainly vegetarian. It was my second visit, and the food was as good as I remembered - very tasty and different to the 'run of the mill' you get at other places.
Yes it is not top class cuisine, but well worth a visit - I will certainly return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    66
    32
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing, not good if you're on your own”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I went here while I was travelling on my own through London, and was expecting an injera with all kinds of different little 'side dishes', as I believe is common (I've had this in other Ethiopian restaurants). However, the 'mixed dish' injera is only available for two persons. So I choose the injera with doro wot (a traditional dish), instead. I received two big injeras with a pile of chicken in sauce in the middle. Though there was a good amount of chicken, the dish was very sour, more so than I am normally accostumed to. I also found the staff to be rather unfriendly to me. Perhaps it's better if you go here with more than one person and just pick the mixed dish (which would resemble the photos shown above more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wazoozaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

On their menu, they have a dish with fish as vegetarian. The mix vegetables is very basic, there is not enough different flavours. Food is just ok, nothing special. They have a sticker on their shop window "We welcome Visa, Mastercard", which is wrong ; I have been requested to pay cash, they refused my card. I didn't have enouch change, I had to go to the ATM to withdraw cash. When paying, I adviced to take off the stickers, they didn't care that much and didn't even say sorry. I don't advice this place !

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Johan_WALTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have not been in such a bad restaurant ever. The first things I notice when I entered was the smell of damp in the air but as we were both hungry we took our seats. We ordered just two simple vegetarian mains and drinks and that's when the wait started. We kept asking when our food would arrived and kept being told in a minute, it was just farcical and being told it was being cooked fresh. Having just order falafel with hummus and salad this was joke. When it eventually
arrived there was five dried falafel on the plate with mostly salad, a small dollop of hummus and what looked like tinned mayonnaise salad, I just looked at the waiter and said is this what's taken so long to cook, he just shrugged. Just to end the loo's were awful to.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Twiggy180113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't order the traditional coffee.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Food is nice and well priced. However, we ordered the traditional coffee and that's where things fell apart. It takes 30 mins to make on a good day. After nearly 2 hours and repeatedly being told it was nearly ready, we left. Had the tempting offer of waiting a little longer and paying half price. No thanks!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Addis Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing