We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't order the traditional coffee.”

Addis Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #7,887 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't order the traditional coffee.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Food is nice and well priced. However, we ordered the traditional coffee and that's where things fell apart. It takes 30 mins to make on a good day. After nearly 2 hours and repeatedly being told it was nearly ready, we left. Had the tempting offer of waiting a little longer and paying half price. No thanks!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    71
    34
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have never tried african cuisine but this is one of the best meals I have had in years because the meats are very nicely spices and unique . I think this is a nice place

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Could have been guided so much better”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

DO NOT ORDER THE SPECIAL under the vegetable section that contains fish...it is a deep fried to within an inch of its life spiny fish with no flesh on it. So not worth the £14 price tag, and gentleman behind us refused to pay for the fish component, and I wonder how many more would too - I would had I been on my own.

We explained we had not eaten Ethiopian before and were looking for advice as to how much to order, what to order and how it all worked. Well the information being returned was limited and not that informative. Basically you order the dishes and you are given a tray of the Injera bread, where you tip the dishes into and eat by scooping it onto pieces of the bread. I would eat there again but would choose more carefully - still a fun experience for a group of people, very sociable way of dining and the other dishes were lovely

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingforfun72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Just been for a meal there after looking for something different and had a great meal. The platter for two is more than enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty and different”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Went for a meal with a friend and really enjoyed the whole experience. The food was colourful and spicy. It was served on a huge flat bread. Nothing as plain as knives and forks - the breads used to scoop delicious mouthfuls! Great fun and very enjoyable . Atmosphere was vibrant and experience was colourful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gill508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Addis Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing