We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gourmet thai food”
Review of Sri Thong - CLOSED

Sri Thong
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“gourmet thai food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I took 3 friends for lunch last friday 27th july 2012 -one from Asia and a french speaking Scotsman who lives in the Cameroons. We had another fantastic meal . food and service was excellent . the beautiful Yum spinach / singapore veg noodles and duck breast coated in honey
and peppers and a red duck curry and chilli prawns and chilli squid in lovely batter ,chicken satay- some rice, some wine and several large bloody spiced mary.
I have been to the sri thong for lunch about 50 times now over the last many years and I have so many repeat requests to go again . I can highly recommend it.
John Carruthers

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ingredients - great value”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

As a regular at 'the thong' probably a little biased but I just love the home cooked family run feel. Last visit met chef Jack - tattooed, abrubt and no smile and only one love - Thai cooking. I can take the grey face - his smiling staff make up for that....and the food. His food is everything and more you expect from a land that draws together flavours from China and India. I had the green curry - fiery and rich in a traditional roti my sister had a Larb Nua salad - heavily veined Scottish rib eye cooked rare (to our order) with a fragrant, zesty lime and mint salad. Wines are very respectable - we had a £20 Spanish Albarino (managers tip). Desserts are light and simple - Moorish Affogato - hot espresso over vanilla pod ice cream in a tumbler was a pleasing finish.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brymay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Nice food, good service”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Eaten in here a few times. Although it is almost like a 'cafe setting' it is good, tasty Thai food and I have only really had 1 slightly dodgey experience in here where my food was completely covered in fish sauce! The other several times I have been have been generally good. The Thai red curry is lovely with a few extra green chillis added to it.

Definitely would recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGower1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I think the chef forgot to turn up”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have eaten in Sri Thong on a number of occasions and always really enjoyed the food there. However last night when we visited, I think the chef mustn't have turned up. The starters were ok but the mains were really poor. I had green chicken curry, which was awful. It was really thin with no hint of coconut milk or spices. My husband had a red duck curry which was really poor with very little meat. The waitress was also miserable and didn't manage a smile once. What a shame this place has gone off.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pixie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thailand on your doorstep”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

simple decor but clean....food tasted terrific, this is a special thai restsurant which my wife and i love....be sure to try it out. You will not be dissapointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterpeter420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sri Thong also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing