We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The RE London Shoreditch
Ranked #564 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced, mediocre”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently for two nights on business. Overpriced, long walk from tube station, road outside is very busy and noisy all night. Breakfast quality is poor with cheap sausages and what looks like tinned fruit.I also never got a reliable connection with the free WiFi. On plus aide, staff were helpful and beds comfortable.

I agree with another reviewer that this hotel has potential but in its current state I would be unlikely to stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bluemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    571
    319
    95
    96
See reviews for
170
476
95
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Nice and clean hotel, both the room and in general. Quality beds. Good feeling all over. Could benefit from a proper shower instead of in-the-tub. Friendly staff. Nice lounge and bar. Advertised free wifi below par as signals were very poor on the thired floor. A bit too far to the tube, but not a big problem. Restaurant food OK. Breakfast below par. The things they had was good, but the selection could have been wider.

Room Tip: The free wifi is not good. Don't plan on getting any Internet dependent work done in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarsNaess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the back of the hotel and slept soundly. There are lots of buses just outside the hotel for fast access to Liverpool St. And you can walk 'at a healthy' pace' to dynamic Shoreditch and have breakfast in Leila's Shop on Calvert Avenue and dance til late at Christopher St. pub. Our room was comfy and very clean. But we would have liked a table lamp and there were no foreign TV channels. No slippers or bath robes but I guess that depends on the room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear of hotel. (like in every hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is a ten - fifteen minute walk from the nearest tube station of Bethnal Green. The staff were busy but efficient. The room was quite quiet and clean. The fridge didn't work despite an 'engineer' coming to fix it, but the hotel kindly provided us with a complimentary breakfast to make up for the spoiled food we'd bought for snacks. The taxi firm partnered with the hotel (GPS London Cars) took us to our evening party destination, but at the end of the evening, didn't turn up for the appointed collection time. When we anxiously called them to find out where they were, they said the traffic was heavy (11.45pm), then quarrelled about the situation and refused to come and pick us up and return us to the hotel. Therefore, if you're planning something similar, I recommend you find an alternative taxi firm who will be reliable. It did cause us quite a bit of distress. We probably wouldn't stay again because of the taxi experience and because it's not close to cafes, shops, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varberg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

good value hotel with nice bar, lounge area, food. Rooms are good and at the right price, 5 mins walk from Bethnal green tube on the central line. Best of all tho the staff are excellent they are polite, knowledgeable and really personable it really made a nice change from many overpriced London hotels. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: maybe not a room on the front (hackney road) as its busy early and late but apart from that no worri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamJC-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed there last Saturday night and first impressions were very good.
The hotel was modern, clean and quite lively. The staff were very helpful and attentive. However, we were kept awake all night by police sirens, racing traffic and noisy people which did not stops until very early in the morning.
I would go back but would never stay on the Hackney Road side.

Room Tip: Not the Hackney Road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Not sure that this hotel deserves its 4 star status - It has a nice bar and is very clean but there are loads of problems. We arrived late and tired - the receptionist was hassled and seemingly untrained - didn't seem to be able to get anything to work and our check in took ages. Someone had left the window open in the room ( in Winter) and it took over half an hour and about 4 phone calls to reception to get the heating turned on - apparently they have to turn it on in the basement so we sat in our coats for 1/2 an hour - (couldn't the room have been prepared for our arrival??) Bad soundproofing from adjacent rooms. On a main road, so lots of traffic noise too. Nearest underground station a bus ride or long walk away. Beds and pillows hard, duvets cheap and nasty. Decor, corporate looking and bland. Don't go unless you get a special deal - otherwise, very overpriced.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking a courtyard. Some rooms have adjoining doors which makes for very poor sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanCUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Town Hall Hotel
#178 of 1,069 in London
1,363 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#305 of 1,069 in London
577 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#136 of 1,069 in London
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#586 of 1,069 in London
161 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#353 of 1,069 in London
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The RE London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The RE London Shoreditch

Property: The RE London Shoreditch
Address: 419-437 Hackney Road, London E2 8PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#340 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The RE London Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RE Hotel London Shoreditch is the newest addition to Londons fashionable East-End, located within easy reach of the Citys financial district and Liverpool Street BR and Tube Station. As well as being convenient for both Stanstead and City airports, we are also right on the main arterial route into central London and the West-End. With air-conditioning throughout, our rooms have been designed with care and attention to detail and so they are perfect for your business or leisure visit to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The RE London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Re London Shoreditch Hotel London
Days Inn London
Days Hotel London
Days Shoreditch
The RE London Shoreditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing