We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A success on a mistake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The RE London Shoreditch
Ranked #549 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Europe
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A success on a mistake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

When I booked this hotel I did my usual routine location check by Google Earth. If I´d been more alert the distance to West End would have made me find another hotel. But sometimes a mistake could be turned into a success, like the booking of this hotel.
The hotel itself feel fairly new but located in a rather run-down district along Hackney Road. This does not imply non-safe surroundings, just that the area needs a face-lift.
The rooms are large with a lot of space and there is a good bath (where the maid replaced used schampoos etc every morning) with large thick towels. On the gound floor a large lounge and a good restaurant (serving both Engling and Continental breakfasts, both good value for the money).
From communcation point of view the hotel is located, as mentioned, a bit from West End but there is a bus-stop just outside the door and with a frequency of 7-10 minutes there are buses to Oxford Circus and Aldwych. It is also possible to take the subway at e.g. Liverpool Street Station (seven minutes away bu bus) or at Bethnal Green (five minutes by foot).
The only thing we missed when we were back from our long days in West End were a wider selection, and better signal quality, of TV-channels.

Room Tip: Book a superior room or a mini-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FontanaACS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    547
    305
    90
    90
See reviews for
163
455
93
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst watching Greenday at the Emirates Stadium. The hotel is a bit further a field than I first thought, a taxi into the centre of London ( to the tourist parts such as the eye or big ben ) was a minimum of £20 each way. The hotel itself is very well decorated, with a nice bar / eating area. Parking in a secure car park under the hotel was £20 for the entire stay, which is great value. The room was quite small considering we upgraded to an executive, but was more than adequate for us. The service from the reception staff was first class, very helpful and very polite, however a few of the waitresses seemed to have a massive attitude problem, one in particular. All in all, its a lovely hotel but I'll try and stay closer to central London next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumbo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed at the RE on many occasions and the one thing I do not understand is why they do not have a decent cable TV package ..... No news channels yet they have Sky in the lobby???

When even the Ibis have all the Freeview channels in their hotels which are 3 star why wouldn't a supposedly 4 star.

I agree with the comment on some of the employees on reception particularly one girl who is always abrupt and a job worth as even if you are half an hour from 2pm she would rather let you wait until 2pm than give you a room. There is no need to eat or drink in this hotel you have the excellent Broadway Market just 5 mins walk away and Brick Lane or Kingsland Road for the Vietnamese Restaurants. You certainly do not need to use cabs from the hotel call one of the local mini cab companies plenty on hackney road or mare street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGirlcalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Letterston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

the second time I had stayed at the re and I am not likely to return. location is all in london; but breakfasts have deteriorated, prices have increased and the evening menu is uninspiring. glad to be home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjmgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Bit of a walk from the station, a really comfortable stay - lovely linen for once non scratchy towels.

Myself and my partner ordered room service before going out to a gig, although horrendously pricey (£15.95 for a cooked breakfast + Tray fee per person) we had the tastiest sausages I've ever had.

Staff were very friendly and exceedingly helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I attempted to make a booking for a single night at the hotel, relatively last minute. At the end of the online booking process, I was told to expect confirmation of my booking via email - this never happened (I checked spam folders etc too). As a result, I ended up staying elsewhere as I believed my booked had not gone through.

Imagine my surprise the following day when I saw my credit card had been charged for the stay that never was, for the booking that was never confirmed. I immediately got on the phone to the hotel, and after being passed around the houses for half a day finally got through to the 'right' person who had very little time for me and seemed wholly unapologetic for the inappropriate charge, not offering a refund as I would have expected.

Two weeks later and it's impossible to get a hold of the right people to talk to in order to get this resolved. My credit card company has frozen the charge which is helpful but the staff at the hotel are unhelpful at best. I've decided to seek legal action against the hotel which wouldn't be necessary if the service was up to par and the right people were a) available and b) bothered to help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrynTanner, Manager at The RE London Shoreditch, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Although we sympathise with the guests statement above the booking was made direct on our website at a discounted price as it was an Advanced Purchase Rate so it was non-cancellable and was charged immediately. The room was available and went through our system as a No-Show and the first contact we had from the guest was after he received confirmation of the Credit Card Charge. At no point did we receive a phone call prior to the booked night stating that there may have been a mistake or error with the booking process, as the booking was successfully processed into our system the charge was then correctly processed. There was no delay in advising the customer the reasons for him being charged, the time detailed above relates to the guest refusing to accept the terms and conditions that he booked under.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked the RE hotel for a hen party based on the good price (£50 per person, per night), the location and the look of the rooms.

We wanted a base in the East of London that was not over-priced, but still had a modern feel.

The hotel is easy to find as it's on a main road, but is a little walk (about 20 mins) from the nearest tube (Hoxton). We got taxi's which were about £5.

A tip would be to not use the hotel taxi booking service as they were slow to arrive, and more expensive than hackney cabs (and they don't know where they're going!). Just wait outside for a few seconds and one will turn up.

The hotel had a clean, modern look with spacious rooms and comfy beds. It has everything you need for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellycatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrynTanner, General Manager at The RE London Shoreditch, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are pleased that your party enjoyed your stay at The RE London Shoreditch for your celebration and thank you for your positive comments. Thank you also for the comment relating to the taxi service as we will now follow up and look to improve the service.

With regards to transport links, Cambridge Heath is the nearest Train Station which is a five minute walk from the Hotel or Bethnal Green Tube Station which is a ten minute walk. Alternatively the most economical way to travel is by bus, of which there are two bus stops directly outside the Hotel where the 26 Bus will take you through Shoreditch/Hoxton, onto Liverpool Street Station and then through to Waterloo, the 48 Bus will also take you through Shoreditch/Hoxton, onto Liverpool Street and then through to London Bridge, and the 55 Bus will take you through Shoreditch/Hoxton, onto Old Street Station and then through to Oxford Street. If you prefer something a little more sedate to enjoy the summer sun then we have a 'Barclays Bicycle' Station adjacent to the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#305 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Town Hall Hotel
#152 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#83 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#112 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,461 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#103 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The RE London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The RE London Shoreditch

Property: The RE London Shoreditch
Address: 419 - 437 Hackney Road, London E2 8PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#337 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The RE London Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RE Hotel London Shoreditch is the newest addition to Londons fashionable East-End, located within easy reach of the Citys financial district and Liverpool Street BR and Tube Station. As well as being convenient for both Stanstead and City airports, we are also right on the main arterial route into central London and the West-End. With air-conditioning throughout, our rooms have been designed with care and attention to detail and so they are perfect for your business or leisure visit to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The RE London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Re London Shoreditch Hotel London
Days Inn London
Days Hotel London
Days Shoreditch
The RE London Shoreditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing