We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The RE London Shoreditch
Ranked #566 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The RE hotel used to be part of a famous mid market business chain and is now trendily 're' branded as a swanky hotel in Shoreditch, except its not in Shoreditch per se, its at the bottom end of Hackney rd near a Tesco express. I would not want to walk this area at night if I were a solo lady traveller.

The hotel itself looks quite smart if you don't look too closely; the basic rooms are simple and modern, compact. The double bed was smaller than I would like and the mattress quality wasnt the best. The bathroom was new looking and clean, there is a fridge in the closet and a kettle w/packet coffee and H choc.
One thing I should mention is they ask for a 'deposit' of £50 on check in, which won't go back on your account for a few days. If you pay this in cash it will be £100. Check in is not before 2pm and checkout is 11am.
We stayed here 2 nights at a reasonable rate for London altho I would also check out a few City based hotels which are discounted on booking.com around this price(secret deals). For a weekend stay RE is a good location for columbia road flower market and Broadway market.

Room Tip: If you book a basic room you might be offered an upgrade to 'executive' for an extra tenner.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billposter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
There are newer reviews for The RE London Shoreditch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for the one night. On arrival, we checked in and had a lovely man on reception, who was helpful and polite. The hotel looked clean enough for none fussy 18 year olds going to a gig. The lifts were small, 2 people + one luggage bag each and we were crammed in. Lift door also kept opening and closing on ground floor before it decided to take us to the next floor, annoying!
Room was okay, bed was comfortable, tea and coffee provided was ample. Full length mirror was dirty, with a previous guests mascara all over it. Bathroom was okay, shower was easy to use.
Went to reception to book a taxi, the staff had changed and the lady was obviously busy on her own, but couldn't handle a smile. We asked for a quote on a taxi, but instead she booked it first and then told us the price. Not very happy with that at all. The man on the bar was good, although drinks were expensive (£3.85ish for a bottle of corona...£3.30 in the local pub at the most).
Booked our own taxi to go back to the train station, saved a lot of money compared to the one reception booked us.
Overall, staff seemed unhappy (apart from one guy on reception), which created an awful atmosphere.
Overpriced bar(and got told breakfast was over £10)
Ridiculous taxi prices when booked through reception.
Nice room, could clean a mirror though, 2 minuite job.
Might stay again, depending on where in London we needed to go, conviniance not choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimsyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice hotel, decent location, great staff, pleasant rooms unfortunately a small group of locals (who for some reason were given a great deal of lattitude by the staff) took over the bar the first night and all the guests were consigned to the lobby to get away from their loud, louty behaviour. To give you an idea, one of the girls in the group repeatedly lifted her skirt up to show the room her v*gin* to the merriment of the others in their party.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard facing room and it was quiet from outisde, unfortunately it was close to the lift...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaLeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have family in Hackney and visit from Australia a couple of times a year. I always book the RE mainly for its location and its low price compared to other London hotels. Its not a fancy place, but its clean, modern and straightforward, with free wifi, decent bar, good coffee (for London!), and parking underneath via a car-lift if you need it (though you can park overnight for free in some nearby streets if you can be bothered to look). A BIG plus is the nearby weekend markets. Just stroll up Pritchards Rd, next to the hotel and then on to Broadway Markets. At the end on Westgate St there are more markets too. Outside market days there are interesting shops along here and, of course, The Dove, one of the great East End pubs! Its really worth staying at the RE for a weekend to absorb a bit of authentic, honest East London Life (know wa' I mean?).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomthepictureframer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wifi in the rooms didn't work half of the time, some staff good others bad (no consistency, if you are lucky you get the right person, but you may find somebody just doing the job without in depth hospitality experience), breakfast basic but correct, rooms a bit sad but I must give it an overall average rating as it is not so easy to find a 4 star in London to a similar price, and not too far off the city centre and well connected by bus. If you do not pretend to find a warm atmophere or stay most time of the day in a hotel, but more looking for something practical, it could be your choice. In most other large European Cities this hotel would be rated in between 3 and 4 star.

Room Tip: Try to ask to have a room on the back side (not towards the main street)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alextraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

You get what you pay for. And you might well be thinking, "this is cheap for a four star hotel" - and you would be right.

Others have said - it's a five to ten minute walk to the tube at Bethnal Green. There's an overground station at the end of the street though.
The place is very popular, and the bar reasonably pricey. The hotel presents as clean. I arrived a half hour early to checkin, and was told that I would have to wait, because the desk clerk has paperwork she needed to finish. Not awful, but not 4 star service, either.
The lifts are very small - two people max - but are pretty efficient. My room on the third floor was quiet, and very clean. The bed, on first appearance, was a generous king size - but it turned out to be two single mattresses with a thick sheet over the top. Not really 4 star, either.

The bathroom was clean, the towels thin, and the furnishings OK looking. It's a three star hotel in many ways. So not bad at all, but don't go expecting to be blown out of the water. It's affordable, a bit out of the way, quiet, clean but not fancy. Good for business, less so for romance. You get the idea.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

1. The location is a really bit far from nearest underground station.
2. The room is clean and big with nice bed.
3. Lack of restaurants nearby.
4. Free wifi coverage in room (though the speed is a bit slow)
5. The decoration is not modern enough

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Town Hall Hotel
#174 of 1,072 in London
1,373 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#294 of 1,072 in London
596 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#138 of 1,072 in London
468 reviews
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#597 of 1,072 in London
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The RE London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The RE London Shoreditch

Address: 419-437 Hackney Road, London E2 8PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#342 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $100 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The RE London Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RE Hotel London Shoreditch is the newest addition to Londons fashionable East-End, located within easy reach of the Citys financial district and Liverpool Street BR and Tube Station. As well as being convenient for both Stanstead and City airports, we are also right on the main arterial route into central London and the West-End. With air-conditioning throughout, our rooms have been designed with care and attention to detail and so they are perfect for your business or leisure visit to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The RE London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Re London Shoreditch Hotel London
Days Inn London
Days Hotel London
Days Shoreditch
The RE London Shoreditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing