We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did I go to a different restaurant?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinings

Dinings
Ranked #1,420 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Marylebone
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Did I go to a different restaurant?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Ok! Where do I start? The food was way expensive, for what it was! Interior basic and quite cramped. I was hoping for a zen experience tranquil interior and good food! Intead I ended up feeling claustrophobic, cold and could not wait to leave! The food itself while good was very expensive and the menu confusing at best, especially if it is your first time. I love Japanese food, and have had some amazing meals at other establishments where the set up at least matched the quality. This however is not ne of them! %17.5 for service!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    88
    40
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“cramped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Visited for business lunch, very expensive for the food, the quality & quantity...
Paid more than £200 for lunch for 4 people with soft drinks.
the place is very small & cramped basement

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank haithamalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have been here twice now and had an excellent meal both times. The staff have been friendly and attentive both times and the quality of the food is superb. It is quite expensive but the quality of the sushi is higher than any of the other sushi bars I've tried in London.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OisinM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
323 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“still wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We went for lunch on a Saturday and are happy to report that the sushi remains outstanding,in our view better than competitors at somewhat smarter addresses in Mayfair and Knightsbridge.The concept here is always evolving and we got the impression that the emphasis is shifting somewhat to more complex dishes with an east/west twist(Japanese tapas).We enjoy those dishes but hope they will not give up on the more basic sushi at which they also excel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetiesPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“awesome food!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

the food was a heavenly experience though the atmosphere was really not pleasant. the place is so small and gets to be too noisy. I mean literally I could hear what all the tables were talking about! one more minus was the smell.... the fish smell was too distinct.
not a cheap option but I would happily go back for the great food!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva-cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinings also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Dinings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing