We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Damn good Sushi for London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinings

Dinings
Ranked #1,423 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Damn good Sushi for London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Frankly London Japanese is usually just bad to barely acceptable (koya udon is the exception) - the number of sushi places I have been serving yesterdays fish on last weeks rice is astonishing...Nobu is the worst offender. Had heard about Dining's from friends and finally managed a table with a colleague. It was really good for London...the sushi was excellent..We had a "best of" plate for two...Toro paired with Yuzu, cold miso on mackerel, really great beef with foi gras..and several other excellent modern sushi types...Fish was spot on, and rice was fresh. Tried a few tapas -pork belly was great but a monkfish karaage was nothing special..but not bad either. Next time I will stick to the Sushi - great Sake list too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gbeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    88
    40
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I recently visited Dinings after a recommendation from a friend. I went with 3 friends during evening service, the place was fully packed but luckily we had booked.
From the very beginning the service was great, our waitress was able to explain all the dishes and the food was served promptly and very well presented.
The food was outstanding!

I definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for Japanese cuisine to a very high standard.

Helpful?
Thank Mingmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb and inventive Japanese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

A hidden gem in Marylebone - so discrete you could pass it without realising, but well worth searching out. It is small so booking is advisable. The dishes are superb - we recommend the Wagyu Beef Sukiyaki. Not cheap compared to some in London, but we thought it was excellent value. We will be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It is ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you are looking for an easy going Japanese restaurant for a group dinner and a diverse menu...this is not the place. It is very cozy (depending on your sitting option..up to claustrophobic) and it offers ...a) great quality for b) a relatively small selection and...c) somehow high prices for the same type of meal and/or level elsewhere in London.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank monpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb sashimi ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

When we lived in London, Dinings was only a 10 minute drive away. Japanese is my favourite cuisine and Dinings serves fabulous dishes at very reasonable prices. I particularly like the little tacos filled with crab, tuna etc and their sashimi dishes with great tasting sauces. Perhaps the fairly basic surroundings means places like Roka work better for special occasions.

Helpful?
Thank Rockandbaconrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinings also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Dinings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing