We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little place, amazing food”

African Gallery Kitchen
Ranked #828 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: African, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Winchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome little place, amazing food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Me and my friend were in the area for a gig at Kings Cross. We try to make a habit of searching out those small restaurants that are not part of a chain as you can usually guarantee that you will get plenty of bang for your buck.

I did a quick search on Trip Advisor and saw that this placed had universal acclaim and so we decided to check it out.

As we needed to be at the concert early I phoned the restaurant to check if they were open all day. They weren't but amazingly Antonio, the charming host who has run this place for over 15 years kindly agreed to let us in at 5.30.

The venue is gorgeous. It's really intimate and cosy and crammed full of some astonishing African inspired art. It was also absolutely spotless.

Antonio was an absolute pleasure to chat to and gave us a quick guide of the menu.

I could not believe how beautiful the food was. There were some truly original and amazing flavours going on. I can't begin to describe how fabulous the meal was but urge you to try for yourself. For such a small place there is an awful lot of choice on the menu including several vegetarian dishes so there will be something for everyone on there. Considering all the food is organic and there are no cheap ingredients used the price is a real bargain for such high class food.

I'm in town again for the May Bank Holiday so I will definitely be visiting again! Please try this hidden gem out for yourselves. Small independent places like this are what keeps London vibrant, interesting and multi-cultural.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herbaliscous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    63
    12
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Thank you trip advisor- what a find!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We read the reviews for the African Gallery Kitchen and as we were staying nearby, thought we would give it a try. So pleased we did as it lived up to all the glowing reviews The food was absolutely delicious, the owner was lovely and really interesting to talk to and the atmosphere really cosy and relaxed. We had a really fab evening, maybe even more enjoyable because we never expected to find somewhere like that in London. Wish we lived nearer as would definitely become regular customers!
Many thanks

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeTerrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
“'A jewel in the Crown'”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I have been regular customers at the African Kitchen Gallery for over twelve years and go there to chill out and enjoy the fabulous food. We normally sit at our favourite spot between the two display cabinets which is in the centre of the cozy room.

On Sat. evening on 30th March my wife and I were in the middle of our dinner when we unwittingly evesdropped. We heard vigorous conversation taking place between rather abrasive toned females who kept cross questioning the proprietor about the food and politics!

When the food arrived they devoured everything on their plates asked for a second helping of rice and even wanted to have the recipe so that they could make the sweet at home.

The Proprietor as we know him is a highly professional affable individual who exudes charm intelligence and hospitality being well travelled he is respectful of people from all walks of life and has a wonderful sense of humour!

After the Proprietor answered the telephone in Spanish we detected a distinctive change in the
tone of the visitors. They starting asking questions about the Spanish Royal Family etc. to which he gave an appropriate reply.

Did these people who were obviously from the EU neck of the woods...actually come to eat out or to discuss politics!?? They spoilt the ambiance we normally enjoyed with their own prejudices.

The food at the African Kitchen Galery is made every morning and all from fresh produce bought at dawn. Heating it up for thirty seconds is what we all do!

We are living in a world where everyone is scrurrying around and need to own a micro-wave!
The food is not cooked in the micro-wave it is simply heated ....which enhances the flavours just enough to satisfy our taste buds! So I cannot for the life of me see how these women can mis-construe the Proprietors comments when they were the ones who opened the chapter.

In our opinion they need to get a life ..... chuck out their micro-waves and cook over a raw fire for freshness! They will need to get council permission to do that!

Good fresh food is always available at the African Kitchen Gallery with a fantastic ambiance .... authentic soft music to help you chill out. We will continue to go there...it is just a 'jewel in the crown'!

Mr. & Mrs. E. Carrington
Richmond

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty and interesting”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I really enjoyed going to this tiny african resteraunt yesterday - the chap is super friendly, the food is lovely and quite cheap, there are some nice vegetarian options available as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhysD655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So worth a visit!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

After spending the day at Warner Studios we needed to grab some lunch on our return to London. After consulting Tripadvisor the decision was to pay a visit to this establishment.

We didn't know what to eat, so many good dishes to choose from, we asked the owner to help us decide which he gladley did. We had the day specials, a juicy chicken, a fantastic fish and beans. All three courses were absolutely something to die for, not to mention the dessert. Small balls of cocos and carrot, all natural and no sugar added.

Everything served has all natural ingredients, no e-numbers and no sugar.

Highly recommendable if you are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank BTEriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed African Gallery Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to African Gallery Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing