We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor roast, OK pub”

The Hoop and Grapes
Ranked #7,355 of 23,993 Restaurants in London
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had the roast beef and trimmings Sunday lunch here.

Yorkshire pudding: barely risen, gravy: artificial, veg: mushy, potatoes: squidgy, beef: a dried out tragedy, price: £15.10. When I ordered (from the specials board on at 1.30pm on a Sunday with just one other customer in the pub), I was told I'd have to wait and see if the 'chef could do it'! I now understand why it was so quiet.

There didn't appear to be anything wrong with it as a drinking establishment though and it's probably a decent place for a pint. Unfortunately, it's classed as a restaurant here and it is under that classification that I have rated it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0nd0n2012, Owner at The Hoop and Grapes, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

HI Adam
thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at The Hoop & Grapes.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal and more so that you did not inform me when asked at the time that you were not happy as i would have taken action immediately to improve your experience.
The price of a roast dinner is £12.50 not £15.10 as mentioned in your review ( this would include the price of your drink also ) , and as the person who served you i certainly did not say that you would have to wait and see if the chef could do the meal you asked for.
Quality control being an important part of the job i had a roast dinner for my own lunch the same day. Whilst admittedly not as good as my own sister in laws magnificent sunday roast , it also bore no resemblance to the email you described either.
I would agree though that The Hoop & Grapes is a pub , not a restaurant and it would be more helpful if listed as such. However i expect we are listed as a restaurant because the first person who reviewed us chose that category , also i do not believe Trip Advisor breaks down categories beyond " Hotel " and " Restaurant " either .
I Hope your next experience is a more positive one
regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Hoop and Grapes is a small and cosy pub. Their food isn't particularly great but the bar is well stocked and the staff is friendly. There main floor is quite small, but there is a large courtyard out the back, which opens to yet another larger courtyard. And there is a first floor outdoor terrace as well, so plenty of space to have a drink outside on a nice day. There are additional floors inside the pub as well, which are always quiet. The biggest down side of the Hoop is that the drinks are quite expensive. Expect to pay £4.50 for a pint of lager.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanInTheBeerGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0nd0n2012, Owner at The Hoop and Grapes, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Hoop & Grapes - im glad you enjoyed your visit and the sun was out for you !
The outside areas will be getting a refurb soon making them even more comfortable for when the bad weather comes back..
We also intend to roll out a new menu later this year so hope to improve the dining experience too
Cheers
Mike ( The Landlord )
P.S. you can get a pit of lager for £3.90 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Brilliant atmosphere and staff, well worth a visit. Sorry for all the rowdy noise sarah , from steve and the gang.

Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0nd0n2012, Owner at The Hoop and Grapes, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hi Stephen
I am glad you had a great time at The Hoop and really appreciate you taking the effort to post a review. I hope you will be back again , though i can see the attraction in living in California !
Have a great time in London
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent and the service was fast. Great beers on tap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shawna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0nd0n2012, Owner at The Hoop and Grapes, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Hi Shawna
thanks so much for showing your appreciation by posting a review , i am glad you had a good night and hope you will be back in for an other visit soon
mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I was with a group of about 30 people who wanted to watch the Super Bowl. Not only was the Hoop and Grapes going to stay open, but they gave us our own room upstairs, special menu, and with no cover charge! Most other bars and pubs charge between 20-30 pounds to watch the big game. The staff and service were both great. The food was top notch, plus you can never go wrong with a pint of spitfire!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RudyGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0nd0n2012, Owner at The Hoop and Grapes, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Hi Rudy
glad you had a good time on your recent visit , hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hoop and Grapes also viewed

 

Been to The Hoop and Grapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing