We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lively atmosphere, excellent cocktails. Quite pricey but a good night.”
Review of Floridita - CLOSED

Floridita
Price range: $31 - $38
Cuisines: European, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Floridita is currently closed for business.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great lively atmosphere, excellent cocktails. Quite pricey but a good night.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I went here for my boyfriends birthday just the two of us.

We started in the Rum Shack bar with some cocktails, the service wasn't great here it took a long time for the waiter to come and take our order but the decor is nice and the cocktails were really tastey. Following that we were taken to our table to the left of the stage in the restaurant area. I had read the reviews on here prior to our visit so was aware that it can be lively and quite loud. It certainly was both of those but we loved it. If your looking for an intimate romantic meal I wouldn't suggest here, but my boyfriend and I had a fabulous time listening to the cuban music and soaking up the atmosphere. The food was great and our waiter was lovely. They even put a candle in my boyfriends desert and wrote happy birthday round the plate in chocolate. I think it's well worth a visit and will hopefully go back another time.
The food isn't cheap, but it's kind of expected in the west end - give it a try, even if it's just for a bit of salsa dancing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    159
    87
    65
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“night out with the girls”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

lovely food, atmosphere and company. the service was a little on the slow side but very friendly. the set menu was fantastic

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Decent cocktails”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Decent rather than the best I've had. A good busy atmosphere and staff good at all times. Would return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcbncfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepest Kent
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“70's sophistication - alive & kicking”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Let's not talk about the venue as this has been done to death here but rather let's talk about the staff, service and food.

STAFF
Both bar and floor staff couldn't be better. From the floor manager who remembered us from a previous visit, to the barman who was able to produce cocktails not on his menu, through to the waiting staff who are neither too intrusive nor too formal and the band who are simply spot on for a fun night out, this place gets it right.

SERVICE
Efficient and polite, what more could one ask for? Only downside would be paying the bill with their chip & pin readers not really working so actually paying became tedious, especially as I was paying immediately prior to leaving. This should be remedied as, even though it's ineffectiveness made a good talking point and the staff remained courteous under duress, it was annoying.

FOOD
They don't offer an a la carte menu on Saturday nights (the only night I've ever eaten there) but the set menus (of which there are 3 levels) are very good and also fairly good value for both the location and the quality of produce.

LIKE
The décor and ambience are great. Totally NOT like the actual Floridita in Havana (even though the fridges behind the bar bear a vague resemblance), reasonably clean and tidy with a great party atmosphere (don't go thinking you'll get a sophisticated dining experience, this is a fancy party bar that happens to offer fine dining). The house band are good.

DISLIKE
It get a bit crowded later in the night, say after 12, as there is little control on the numbers admitted to the bar area which can be irritating. The house DJ is rubbish, overly loud and "up" himself.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bedsettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“good vibe”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked this restaurant as we wanted to celebrate our anniversary with food and music. The guys on the reservation phone are not the greatest but we got a great table by the stage. The service was excellent we were served by 2 girls one from the Grand Canneries who was very attentive and the other the head waiter also very good and both knowledgeable about the food. The menu is different and there were different options for different likes and the food very good lots of tastes and different combinations. The only bad point was my rump steak, a bit too fatty but all in all good. The music was good and there was a great vibe, once the dancing got started the table became a free for all. Would go again had a enjoyable night and the mojitos were excellent!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Floridita also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing