We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Brit Brekkie”
Review of The Parlour

The Parlour
Ranked #3,521 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Price range: $33 - $46
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Transit: Piccadilly Circus (Bakerloo & Piccadilly lines) and Green Park (Jubilee, Victoria & Piccadilly lines) Bus no. 9, 14, 19, 22, 38
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“True Brit Brekkie”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Breakfast before shopping with my wife and niece, where better to start than breakfast at this quintessentially English institution. From the Earl Grey tea to the black and white pudding, it was excellent with eggs that have a deep yellow yoke which taste like eggs used to taste when I was a kid. The service, as you might expect, was exemplary. The 'full English' is particularly recommended ... provided you Ignore the calories and its propensity to induce a heart attack!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    151
    79
    35
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a true English tea in a vintage setting”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fabulous traditional English high tea in a bright traditional setting. Great for a pre-theatre supper with all of the trappings of an English high tea. Delicious and filling with the best tea in England.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bosslady000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Birthday lunch!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been to Fortnums a few times before but this was my first visit to The Gallery for my own birthday lunch organised by my wonderful Dad.

We had a fabulous table situated overlooking Jermyn Street and some special birthday treats (champagne and chocolate cake) had been ordered in advance and were on hand ready for us. All sorts of diners eat here - from tourists wanting a bite to eat on their travels around central London to the group like us who were smartly dressed and out for a celebration. Anything goes which on this day made for a wonderful, vibrant atmosphere. I had a special rendition of Happy Birthday sung to me by a group of waiters (and half the restaurant) and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I will be returning without question.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Should be better”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Popped in with two friends for a pot of tea and a scone. Told by an indifferent waitress we could not have one each but had to order four. Decided to have a small piece of carrot cake instead. Big mistake - especially the cost! This venue is a British institution and should be faultless. Time to pull their socks up and make sure service matches reputation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryHopley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad service but great ice cream”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Lovely looking ice cream parlour but the staff deliberately mis-hear and sell more expensive items without clarifying the extra cost. Nice ice cream but that's about all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachael1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parlour also viewed

 

Been to The Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing