We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the Japanese or people who lived in Japan would go”
Review of Tomoe

Tomoe
Ranked #1,854 of 23,024 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $58
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where the Japanese or people who lived in Japan would go”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This I understand is our favourite neighbourhood restaurant which used to be based on the top of Marylebone Lane. We used to go pretty much every other week, sitting at the sushi counter for some the best sushi in Europe (as my Japanese secondee colleagues would say) and the very authentic izakaya food. We were so sad when it had to move out when the entire building is being renovated and now it's reopened in Putney!! The lucky people in Putney!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yinan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    22
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“authentic Japanese restaurant in Putney”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having lived in Japan for several years, we've been waiting over a decade for a decent Japanese restaurant to come to Putney and at last it has.

Although we saw great reviews in the past, we were unimpressed with our sole experience of Chosan (the shabby former Japanese restaurant on this site, whose chef, we learn, has retired) but this replacement is great. It used to be in central London with generally good reviews for the food but apparently sometimes let down by poor service.

The Putney restaurant had been closed for several months over the summer for refurbishment. Now it has a clean, plain look. A large area at the front is empty except for a service counter and stairs. Going through this to the main ground floor room, there are half dozen tables and an L-shaped counter with seating for about 10 (and the sushi-chef standing behind it, as usual). There are probably more tables downstairs (we haven't looked yet). There is a semi-open kitchen at the far end, on the ground floor, where you can just glimpse the head of the other chef bobbing about.

Although this new restaurant has only been open a few weeks, the ground floor tables were all occupied during the course of our lunch, with a mix of Japanese and Foreigners. The staff (chefs and front of house) are Japanese or part-Japanese and everything on the several menus (specials of the day, set lunches and a la carte) is both reasonably priced and authentically Japanese, free of any Korean influences (no kimchee!). Service was good.

We had two generous set lunches, one chicken and the other prawn tempura (£10 and £13.50 respectively), and enjoyed everything. The miso soup was reasonably good and not too salty, the pickles were genuine Japanese pickles, the other "small dish" was also genuinely Japanese (in Japanese restaurants run by Koreans, not surprisingly, Korean-flavours tend to creep in) and the rice was good quality.

The salad was fresh but disappointingly without any discernible dressing. The main dishes were excellent, with the tempura and its dip in particular everything it should be. Only the ice creams were a disappointment, especially the green tea ice cream which tasted as if it had been made with powdered milk.

This is a local and solidly Japanese restaurant of the kind we've been dreaming of, free of foreign influences. Hurrah! We look forward to visiting regularly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank exotissima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My fav Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was invited to Tomoe by my Japanese friend. It was a fav one of him and his wife when they lived in London. They have a wide varied menu. Staff is friendly and service is quick! Then it has become my preferred option for eating out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nga_ttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Japanese restaurant in London”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you want to eat an authentic great Japanese food, I will recommend here.
It is much better than going to very expensive Japanese restaurant (eg: located near Green Park).
Fishes are all fresh because master is buying new fishes from the market.
You can order sushi, sashimi, other authentic Japanese foods...they are all terrific!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerekK923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Sushi Wonderful and Quirky”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

There are lots of overpriced Sushi restos in London and this is not one of them. This is an old home style real Japanese place which serves great sushi at reasonable prices with none of the flash and a lot of heart. It's ot about 5-8 tables upstairs and a wonderfully dowdy downstairs. Ignore the carpet and the rather beaten up furniture and you'll find a wonderful staff, very enthusiastic, a kind of pleasant frenetic and eager to please service and a wonderfu sushi master downstairs who is quiet, elegant and very serious about delivering great food. The place also has various posters and T shirts on the wall to raise funds for Fukishima so you know their heart is in the right place. Simple and delicious. PS and in passing the negative reviews of this place are just plain wrong. It can have an off night but don't let that fool you. For fans, the offnights are more than outweighed by the consistent overall quality good intentions and right spirit. Go there often.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomoe also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Tomoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing