We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi Wonderful and Quirky”
Review of Tomoe

Tomoe
Ranked #1,831 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $58
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Sushi Wonderful and Quirky”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

There are lots of overpriced Sushi restos in London and this is not one of them. This is an old home style real Japanese place which serves great sushi at reasonable prices with none of the flash and a lot of heart. It's ot about 5-8 tables upstairs and a wonderfully dowdy downstairs. Ignore the carpet and the rather beaten up furniture and you'll find a wonderful staff, very enthusiastic, a kind of pleasant frenetic and eager to please service and a wonderfu sushi master downstairs who is quiet, elegant and very serious about delivering great food. The place also has various posters and T shirts on the wall to raise funds for Fukishima so you know their heart is in the right place. Simple and delicious. PS and in passing the negative reviews of this place are just plain wrong. It can have an off night but don't let that fool you. For fans, the offnights are more than outweighed by the consistent overall quality good intentions and right spirit. Go there often.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    22
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

the place itself (deco-wise) isn't the most elegant, but, the food is great! very fresh fish, very good tempura and very good ice cream. this is my go-to japanese restaurant in london - it is fuss free and easy to book!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nvko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unhelpful and patronising waitress”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was a cold night and one of us wanted hot food, so he ordered from the grill.
First to arrive was his aubergine. Cold from the fridge. When we questioned that we had the correct order 'from the grill' we were told it is always served like this and anyone who knows about Japanese food would know this. We were most surprised by this attitude, as we thought the clue was in the title 'from the grill'. We sent it back uneaten. Next to arrive was a steak, looked ok but had absolutely no flavour. My sashimi and maki was ok The waitress refused to take the aubergine off the bill. Needless to say we won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Fresh sushi and sashimi”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Tomoe is probably one of the most decent Japanese sushi restaurants in London. The sashimi rice in bowl (chirashi sushi) is rather small and pricey but the various sashimi includes tuna and prawns are quite fresh and the sushi rice is very very tasteful. The fried tofu in dashi broth (agedashi dofu) is another great dish I enjoyed as well.

The downsides of Tomoe are the expensive price tag and more importantly japanese tea is not refillable, and it costs £1.20 per cup! Not good!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaloong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“the place for japanese food lovers”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

this is not a fancy restaurant,but excellent simple Japanese food cooked & served by those who really understand to do it.If we come again to London,we will always visit again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roro1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomoe also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Tomoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing