We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our must-go-to restaurant in London!”
Review of Tomoe

Tomoe
Ranked #2,256 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $59
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Our must-go-to restaurant in London!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We visit London once or twice a year from our home in Japan (spouse is Japanese) and we always go here for dinner.
The food is without exception perfectly cooked and delicious. A real authentic taste.
But, not just the standard Japanese cuisine, they make good use of the ingredients available in the UK and Europe. A dish that really stood out on our second last visit (we are still talking about it!) was Fois Gras on simmered Daikon. I'm not a fan of fois gras but combined with the diakon (giant radish) it was fantastic. Perfectly cooked tempura, wonderful sushi and sashimi (I think I heard that the owner actually is a fish supplier to London restaurants and you can tell he's getting the best quality fish for his restaurant), noodles, etc... I've never had anything less than delicious.
We have made in-roads in to their Drink Menu, lots of good Nihonshu sake, but this sometimes gets expensive if you are not paying attention.
The interior is not stylish at all but still authentically Japanese, not the best ambiance for a romantic date but the food is so good who cares! There are two floors with the clean but utilitarian loos downstairs.
The location is very good. Just 5 mins walk from Oxford Street. And ususally when we've been, the customers are mostly Japanese, always a good sign.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sportessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    20
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi and seared marinated mackerel to die for!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Tomoe is one of the few great Japanese restaurant in London. I wanted to keep the place as a secret, but it seems every time I go there now I bump in to someone I know!
Not much of an atmosphere in terms of decor but it makes up for delivery of consistent standard in quality. The price is not cheap but not as much as Zuma or Roka. What they serve is simple and traditional Japanese food without frills.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great fun with a large group”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We were greeted with 3 steaming hot pots full of broth and vegetables and large platters of thinly sliced pork. Delicious. We ordered many other dishes including oysters, 2 different chicken dishes and gyozas. The broth from the hot pot after everything was cooked was delicious. Enjoyable dinner with plenty of room for a large party (13+ people)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank dahlia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food.”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I am English but i lived in Japan for 8 years and as much as i could tell, the food was very authentic. We went with a group of friends and we were seated downstairs on a Friday evening. The place was packed and it had quite a few tables full of Japanese salarymen making it feel more authentic. Very much like a Japanese izakaya for those that are familiar with them. Most of the waiters were Japanese as well and they were very attentive.
After eating and drinking for 3 hours, the bill came to GBP 43 each and we were very well fed so it felt reasonable. The dragon sushi roll takes an hour to prepare so if you like it, order it as soon as you arrive.
The decor is looking tired but the good food and a fun atmosphere make up for it. i would come back again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“the first time, it seemed to be good, as i just had a quick lunch. BUT bad attitude of the waitresses for the second...”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

the first time, it seemed to be good, as i just had a quick lunch. BUT bad attitude of the waitresses for the second time we visited there.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomoe also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Tomoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing