We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple and clean but a rubbish breakfast”
Review of Gower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gower House Hotel
Ranked #644 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“simple and clean but a rubbish breakfast”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Excellent location for Bloomsbury - stayed for a quick visit as it was handy for Euston. All is basically OK - clean and spacious room, slightly cramped shower room, but that's not a big problem. Matress was a bit thin but the worst aspect was that the breakfast was poor - no other way fo describing it. At this price, you would expect a decent breakfast. I'm not objecting to the lack of a cooked breakfast, but the quality of items in the contiental selection were poor - a part baked bread thing, slightly ropy croissant and some sort of minsiscule Danish. Fruit salad looked as though it had come from a tin and I am convinced that the yellow spread was margarine - it looked so yellow that I did not even want to taste it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewAwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    92
    58
    17
    11
See reviews for
56
72
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed last night at the Gower House Hotel for a business trip. Its ideally situated about 10 minutes walk from Euston Station and 5 minutes walk from Goodge Street Underground and lots of shops and restaurants. My single room was tiny but had everything I needed including tea and coffee. The bathroom was minuscule but very clean and newly refurbished. The bed was comfy and I had a good nights sleep. Yes the communal areas need some redecoration and the breakfast is basic but thats ok. I left my suitcase for the day while I was at a meeting and on my return I was able to sit in the breakfast room with a cup of tea and my laptop instead of waiting an hour at Euston for my train. No problems here.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as if possible I did and didn't hear any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Why are you asked to pay as you enter the hotel? The answer is because if you waited, you'd leave within minutes. The only plus point about this hotel is the location. Old beds. No room to swing anything. Doubtful cleanliness. Took ten minutes to close what was called double glazing to reduce the tedious road noise.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnp880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Noisy, dingy, dirty. Chewing gum on the walls and hairs all over the bathroom floor. A total rip off. For the money you pay you should definitely get more. And who finishes serving breakfast on a Sunday at 9.30am! Avoid unless your the kind of person used to slumming it on a floor or sofa.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank InchKentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Greeted by the grumpy front of house staff member we were showed to our noisy room. If it wasn't so close to the West End I wouldn't have paid to stay here but as we were seeing a show it was nice to have such a short walk to get back at the end of the evening. The road noise is incessant though so be warned!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I'm about to check out of this hotel and must say it's decidedly average. It's clean and tidy and the bed is comfy but it's only single glazed and sits on one of London's busiest streets so the road noise is pretty much constant. We're in a room facing the road, it might be quiet in the back. The breakfast is cereal, fruit salad in syrup, a roll, a mini pastry and a croissant. It's advertised as continental but no ham, cold meat or cheese are provided. The tables are set with a knife, fork and spoon but I couldn't figure out why, apart from appearances, the fork was there, LOL. It's 15 mins walk from Covent Garden which is of course the only reason to stay here, it's not cheap but it's the location you pay for.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Autoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in the triple room with en suite both of which were clean and totally adequate for our needs. The room was on the top floor but the exercise was good for us :)
Everything was clean and the beds comfortable.
Breakfast was continental and the coffee fresh. The dining area is small, considering the number of rooms, but was not a problem when we were there. The staff are polite and efficient.
It was ideally situated between Euston Station and the Strand theatres, which was our reason for being there.
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#534 of 1,068 in London
343 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#852 of 1,068 in London
45 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#558 of 1,068 in London
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#85 of 1,068 in London
1,749 reviews
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#539 of 1,068 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#127 of 1,068 in London
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gower House Hotel

Property: Gower House Hotel
Address: 57 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#367 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gower House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gower House Hotel is a pleasant, Bed & Breakfast hotel, offering accommodation in single, double and family rooms. All of them are en-suite rooms with private bathroom equipped with LCD TVs and tea & coffee making facilities. Wireless internet access is available in all rooms. Situated in a terrace of Georgian town houses in Bloomsbury, this listed building is typical of the architectural style of the area. We are directly opposite the famous Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, and just a short walk from the British Museum. The many shops, theatres, cinemas and restaurants of the West End are all within easy reach, as are University College Hospital, several London University college sites, and the newly built British Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel London
Gower House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing