We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dim sum yum”

Royal China - Docklands
Ranked #3,744 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: $73 - $78
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dim sum yum”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went there with friends & had a lovely meal. Absolutely packed with people, all there for an early Saturday lunch of dim sum. Our friend in the know picked the dishes & we weren't disappointed. We'd return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    160
    62
    43
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great view, service and food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I loved my short stay at the Royal China restaurant. The location was excellent (apart from I walked from Canary Wharf and expected it to take 10 minutes, I got a cab back). The serive was excellent and if you love chinese food, I strongly recommend you take a visit, either in the afternoon for Dim Sum or the evening for dinner.
I will revisit as I will re-visit the sister restauarnt in Baker street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiallTNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, good food!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice dinner here with a large group. We had one of the big round tables in the back room. The staff was friendly and attentive. The huge meal was really good, huge portions and cooked well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BizDevRoadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but terrible service”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I used to visit this restaurant regularly and enjoyed it but recently it has really gone downhill. While the food is still ok the quality has deteriorated but the service is the real problem. Because of the location the restaurant tends to be very busy in the summer and therefore they make no effort with customers. Luckily we were there for a relaxed evening and so were not in a rush but the staff were very unfriendly and it took forever to even order a drink. Once we had ordered food it came quickly but our empty plates then sat there for well over half an hour with no one offering further drinks or dessert. When we finally got someone's attention to get the bill they acted a though we were bothering them and never once inquired how our food had been. It's a shame as on a warm evening it's a lovely location to sit on the riverside, but I would not go back given the number of other lovely options which offer good service nearby.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lydia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great river location”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We love this very authentic Chinese restaurant! You can sit outside with a lovely view and ambience! The food is brilliant, with very efficient service! The menu is extensive and never disappoints! Worth a visit, whatever the weather!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RosieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal China - Docklands also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Royal China - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing