We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian food at a restaurant ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ma Goa

Ma Goa
Reserve with OpenTable
Ma Goa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,852 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $44
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Home Style
Transit: Tube: East Putney, Bus Nos. 337,430 Putney Bridge
Description: At Ma Goa Restaurant, my Mother and her team prepare their favourite dishes using family recipes passed downthe generations. Our menu takes inspiration from the beautiful palm fringed region of Goa (where my Ma learnt to cook) but also takes influences from other parts of India.Since its opening in 1993, we have won critical acclaim from many top critics & we take pride in the fact that we are a genuine family-run restaurant. Our mission has always been to serve tasty, fresh, unpretentious home-style cooking in a warm & friendly setting. Our wine list includes over 50 delicious Portuguese wines. Situated 2 minutes away from Putney British Rail & 5 minutes away from East Putney Tube it makes a perfect venue before a night on the town. We also offer a popular take-away & free local delivery service & a party catering service. We look forward to welcoming you to Ma Goa soon.
dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian food at a restaurant ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

An amazing gourmet menu. Every dish was delicious, creative, with a perfect balance of tastes and textures, and wonderful presentations. The service is attentive, courteous and very professional. The food was just perfect.................not oily and heavy as normal Indian food at restaurant is. My husband loved the non veg. Despite of we being the last entrants, the staff treated us with so much love, it felt like home treat. It's just so perfect with everything, the classy interiors, the non greasy tasteful food, Courteous and smiling staff. A must visit for everyone!!!! Thanks a lot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anjalisameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    75
    26
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Outstanding Goan Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Visited Ma Goa as I was brought up on Goan food. This restaurant is the real deal. All the Goan dishes were authentic and so moorish. The pork vindaloo was as it should be, spicy but full of flavour. I took a friend along who was used to traditional UK curry houses and he was blown away with the taste and flavours. Going to come back here again with the family to live the days again of good family meals Goan style.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice dinner on our Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had a very nice dinner on our wedding anniversary this year at Ma Goa. The food was flavoursome and well-presented. The decor was subtle and classy and the service was attentive without being intrusive. They were were flexible to accommodate my request for flowers and a special dessert. The owner Deepak personally came to meet and wish us on our anniversary. In short, highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnandGanguli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer Buffet Party Catering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ma Goa recently provided canapes and a hot buffet for 60 guests at our home in Putney.The food was excellent and an Indian friend commented on how wonderful it was to have such superb authentic catering. From the planning of the menus to the very end of the party the team from Ma Goa were extremly helpful.
Ma Goa provided a wonderful variety of dishes for the buffet and we will certainly use Ma Goa again for catering.
Highly recommend for party catering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PUTNEY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Muy buena comida y buena atención. Good service and very good meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hi, last Tuesday I went for lunch with my family to Ma Goa Restaurant, It was a very nice experience.
Nice meal, nice atmosphere, superb service.
For me one of the best Indian restaurants I have never been.
Thanks a lot for the nice meal and atmosphere we had.
I will recommend this Restaurants to my friends.
Thanks again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma Goa also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Ma Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing