We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but number 8 in London?”
Review of Ma Goa

Ma Goa
Reserve with OpenTable
Ma Goa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,507 of 23,211 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Transit: Tube: East Putney, Bus Nos. 337,430 Putney Bridge
Description: At Ma Goa Restaurant, my Mother and her team prepare their favourite dishes using family recipes passed down the generations. Our menu takes inspiration from all regions of India but we have a passion for Goa. Since its opening in 1993, we have won critical acclaim & we take pride in the fact that we are a genuine family-run independant restaurant. Our mission has always been to serve tasty, fresh, unpretentious home-style paired with incredible craft beers from our tap wall. Situated 2 minutes away from Putney British Rail & 5 minutes away from East Putney Tube it makes a perfect venue before a night on the town. We also offer a popular take-away & local delivery service via Deliveroo & UberEats & a party catering service. We look forward to welcoming you to Ma Goa soon.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Maybe I have tried too many none authentic Indian restaurants that have caused me to not really appreciate this place as much. Please note the food was very good so was the service but I dont understand where the whole wow factor comes from other reviews but I do appreciate their opinion.

Would I go back? Most likely no as there are many cheaper local to your high street curry houses that are very similar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaGoa, Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hi Mario, We really appreciate your review. We are not number 8 (yet!) but are very proud of our no18 position which we will work hard to maintain. We are genuinely disappointed to hear that you will not be returning and would love to hear from you to learn how we could change that opinion. Please let us know by contacting us directly on kapoordee@aol.com. Thanks once again for your much valued opinion. King regards Deepak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Ma Goa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 243 of 343 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have been both dining in and takeaway from Ma Goa for some 5 years, shameful that we have not done a review sooner!!! This restaurant/takeway leaves all others in it's dust. Simply the best in every aspect. We love you Ma Goa!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patsy-Ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaGoa, Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor. We hope you will make a trip to see us again soon! The Ma Goa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Why this Restaurant has been off of my Radar, god only knows!
My friend found it on the internet, as for some years we have been looking for a decent Indian Restaurant.
We had what I can only explain as an excellent meal ! The Staff were attentive, helpful, and couldn't do enough for you.
I unhesitatingly commend this little gem to anyone whom enjoys Indian food, as the cuisine is superior to the "run of the mill" Indian establishment

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been to Ma Goa a couple of times, both to eat in and take away - the service is great (very sweet and helpful staff) and the food is excellent!

It's the kind of place where you can try something a little different (as we always do) without the risk of disappointment or food envy - their chicken dishes are lovely, and their salmon starter is incredible. I have been repeatedly impressed by Ma Goa - and I am especially happy that they haven't rested on their laurels at all. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Njo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaGoa, Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor. We hope you will make a trip to see us again soon! The Ma Goa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Ma Goa is an excellent place for proper authentic goan food and to compliment it all the service is 5 star.Vibhav the restaurant manager is a very good ambassador for the restaurant and a true goan.The ambience of the restaurant is very pleasent and gives a warm feeling.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jolene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaGoa, General Manager at Ma Goa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We really appreciate your review & look forward to seeing you back at Ma Goa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma Goa also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Ma Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing