We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel with really lush rooms according to my children and I agree.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #122 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel with really lush rooms according to my children and I agree.”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

If you are looking for a trendy hotel that's a calm oasis in the City, then look no further. The Andaz manged to impress my 15 year old son and 10 year old daughter and pampered my (mum) every need. It made my trip to the capital stressless. The minimal decor within the original architecture of the building is impresive and the quality our room was exceptional. This was our second visit to this hotel and were were not disappointed. Our room on this occasion was even better than the last. We hardly wanted to venture out. The bathroom was roomy and pristine; the main bedroon /lounge was to die for and complimentary non-alcohol contents of the minibar and snacks an added bonus, and the freshly made brownies that appeared in our room when we were out , exceptional ! My children do not want to stay any where else in London ( and we have sampled many other hotels) and I have to agree . We had dinner in the 1901 resturant and were welcomed warmly. The meal was excellent and the service throughout the hotel equally so. The Andaz is well positioned on the underground system and well worth an extra few minutes journey from the West End. We look forward to very much to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis-Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We are absolutely thrilled that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us. We are equally pleased that you enjoyed your dinner in 1901 restaurant and we will make sure to forward your review to our staff. We hope to welcome you back to Andaz very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,063
    788
    211
    58
    37
See reviews for
413
1,291
255
839
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend & what a find it was. Perfectly pitched to access any part of London with Liverpool Street station on your doorstep & ideal for us as we were getting the Stanstead Express from the airport.

The hotel is wonderfully appointed, thoughtfully designed & feels like a hotel twice it's price. We have stayed in countless design hotels all over the world & the Andaz felt like an exceptionally worthy competitor. The staff were friendly without being overbearing & the small touches such as complimentary snacks, wine in the evenings, bathroom products & an area guide were all spot on.

We ate lunch in the hotel & enjoyed some lovely cocktails on one evening. We skipped the breakfast option as Spitalfields markets & lots of lovely brunch spots are on the doorstep.

We were so impressed that we have now booked their sister hotel in New York for our next getaway. Can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonmurray15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you so much for leaving your comments here. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Andaz Liverpool Street as well as the local area. We are extremely pleased that following your stay with us you will be staying at one of our Andaz hotels in New York. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

This is the first review I've written regarding this hotel. First of all the staff are excellent and do their very best to ensure you have a wonderful time! A couple of things however, I wish the elevator went from the room floors directly to the health club, you have to go through the lobby, a bit annoying. Also I just stated in room 552 and I hate to say you can hear everyone upstairs snd the toilet flushing next door, I was woken up at 5:45am. The rooms are modern and clean, you have turn down service which is excellent. In all this hotel is highly professional and the staff are great. I most certainly return!!! The staff make the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryUnhappy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read your comments about our staff and we will make sure we share this with them. The hotel dates back to 1884 and is also grade II listed which means we are restricted in making changes to the structure. We are sorry about the noise, we will make sure our Engineering Team checks the room for sound proof. The noise of the toilet is due to our bathrooms being equipped with a vacuum based water system, designed to use 80% less water than a regular system which results in a louder flush mode. Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcoming you back at Andaz very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We had a one day transit in London before flying back to KL after our europe trip. The hotel was perfect!! We arrived very late (after midnite) after a flight delay from barcelona. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We had a minor problem when she said that I have to pay for the room eventhough I have made a prepaid booking thru a travel agency. She assured me to look into it and then she escorted both of us to our room. After showing and brief us about the room, I wanted to tip her...but she declined, eventhough I insisted, she said its ok. A few minutes later I got a call from her saying that she had sorted out my problem, as there were double booking made under my name. A first class service!! I also love everything about the hotel, location, free minibar, a bag of light breakfast, size of the room, the bed :)) Definitely will be back if we are in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorerKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you very much for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the double booking situation upon arrival. Sorry about the situation but we are glad that this was sorted out straight away for you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Went as part of a wedding group and took advantage of group discounts so was able to save some money. Valet parking is almost a necessity in this part of the city, just grin and bear it, worth every penny. Brilliant staff, couldnt be more helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry_martin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff brilliant. We hope the wedding went well and very much look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We recently stayed at the Andaz, Liverpool Street, after finding a great deal on Secret Rooms. This hotel is 5 star all the way. Located next to Liverpool Street station, it is a great location for a weekend break in London. The staff are friendly, attentive and welcoming (the room maid even held the door open for us). The rooms are modern, clean and contain everything you need. We arrived at check-in time, 3pm, and received a free upgrade to a King Room just because there was one available. We didn't try the adjacent restaurants and bars because we had already planned to go to the theatre, but they looked very nice and the prices were very reasonable for London. The mini-bar in the room contained a selection of fruit juices and water - which were free of charge. The room also had tea/coffee making facilities. We would definitely stay there again and have already recommended friends to go there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjb1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at Andaz and for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. We are really happy that you enjoyed the location as well as the service provided by our staff. Thank you very much for recommending us to your friends and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2011

To be fair, I'll give you the positives first. The bed/bedding and the shower were awesome. The gym was more than adequate any workout style.

The cost is outrageous -- of course, I knew that going in, but I DEFINITELY had booked a "good morning breakfast" package that they refused to honor upon my arrival but would not adjust my room rate accordingly. I was told that there were different snack foods each morning in the lobby - just to eat there. (They were good muffins and pastries, always the same.)

I thought it was only my experience, but in the elevator I heard two people joking about how "shiny and new" the hotel looked, "but nothing actually works". The plumbing and electrical both needed "help" in my room.

It really is in a location difficult to access or to walk to.

I'm a regular Hyatt guest (all over the world) and was disappointed this week. I won't be back to this one.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to learn through your review on this site about the situation with the rate confusion upon arrival. The Andaz concept offers various food and drink items throughout different times of the day in the Lounge (lobby) as a welcome amenity and are not a substitute to our meals in our restaurants. The hotel has a on-going preventative maintenance programme in place and we will continue to focus on the standards of our property. We take your comments seriously and will keep focusing on our on-going staff development in this non-traditional set-up.

The hotel is located next to one of London's main train stations, Liverpool Street which gives you easy access to the West End and is just a short walk from London's up and coming East End. We hope to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#39 of 1,067 in London
975 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
1,871 reviews
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#443 of 1,067 in London
467 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Property: Andaz London Liverpool Street
Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London
Andaz London Liverpool Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing