We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated Luxury...and Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #121 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We spent the first weekend of our honeymoon in London. This was my husband's first time to London...and my first trip back to London in 4 years.

We had received a glowing recommendation for the Andaz from a friend who lives in the area. She cited both the interior and the location as a key reasons to spend the weekend there.

We looked up a few reviews and booked (an extremely reasonable price)!

Our stay at the Andaz was exactly the way we had envisioned our honeymoon starting. We arrived from New York City at 6 am, London time and dragged ourselves to the hotel, exhausted. Immediately greeted and welcomed, the staff checked us in and took us to an available room, where we gladly crashed on the comfortable bed for a few hours.

We chose an interior facing room (read: no natural light) because we really wanted to rest for a few hours without distraction. We were offered a room with a view, but declined. The room itself was fantastic! Great use of space, with a funky light, comfortable bed, and attractive closet. All of the items in the mini bar were complementary and the staff was quick to respond to any items we needed (ironing board, transformer for hair appliances). The bathroom was large, complete with top notch spa products.

The toilet/bathtub operate with water saving functionality, meaning that there is a holding tank for water and the toilet/shower doesn't drain until enough water is in the tank. This does result in a slightly loud shower experience (a loud whooshing noise), but as long as you're not showering while your partner is trying to sleep, it's not a cause for concern (and besides, I really appreciated the water conservation).

The Andaz is a modern hotel set inside a beautiful historic building. It's fun to wander through the halls and steps and explore the integration between new and old. The gym was well-equipped and room service was the best I've ever had!

The location couldn't be better. Located right next door to the Liverpool Underground, the Andaz is walkable to the Old City, Tower of London/London Bridge, Spitalfields, Brick Lane, and even Shoreditch. HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,717 - 2,723 of 3,385 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

I booked a 1 night stay for my partners 30th BIrthday who had recently fractured both legs in a sporting injury. I chose this hotel purely on the grounds that due to there being a number of bars and restaurants on-site it would negate the necessity to leave the hotel to eat/ drink which would obviously help the situation with my partners legs..
Despite what the hotel's website states ( ie that you can take a seat in the lobby whilst a member of staff comes to you and checks you in on mobile computers) we had to hover around the front desk awkwardly until somebody finally noticed us and checked us in. We were given minimal information- basically what room number we were in and how to get there, not even what time to check out! Our room was fine to a degree, nothing out of the ordinary but we were there for the bars and restaurants rather than the room. On exploring the large hotel we thought it strange that many of the bars and restaurants appeared to be closed, it was only when we went to reception to ask what time they opened we were informed that all the bars and retardants were closed on a Sunday and did not reopen until Monday! Gutted was not the word! Nowhere on the website does it state this and had it done we would NOT have booked! Not even a residents bar to have s few drinks in! Clearly this hotel's proprieties are not it's guests but external trade!
The evening went from bad to worse discovering that the cold water in both the shower and the sink did not work AND the toilet would not flush.. At all!!
Whilst I appreciate there may not be s necessity for the hotel to open it's bars and restaurants on a Sunday from a business perspective but I really do feel that they need to focus on it's guests more and at least advertise the fact that there I'd absolutely nothing for guests to do who stay on a Sunday evening!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaunmanchester1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is the first time I have stayed at the Andaz brand of hotels from the Hyatt chain. I am not sure who the target clients are, but the architecture of the Hotel is fantastic. To continue in a positive vein, the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. I could not fault their service and efficiency.

Now to the major problem. Having booked online at the hyatt website, I requested a quiet room on a high floor. The hotel was full, but the staff did their best to find a suitable room, and I was upgraded to a large suite. This is a new hotel, but unfortunately, there has been zero money spent on sound-proofing of any type for the rooms. I could hear everything from the rooms adjacent to mine as well as the room directly above and from the street outside. This resulted in the worst night sleep I have ever had at a hotel. I finally got to sleep at about 2am, only to be woken by delivery lorries outside at 5-30am, and from then on it was impossible to sleep again because of the noise. Having been there for business. The lack of sound-proofing I would expect from a $150 per night room, but not from a $1500 per night room. It was awful.

My advice is to visit the fantastic 1901 bar and restaurant to see the beautiful arcitecture, but for the love of a good nights' sleep, don't book a room there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drivervet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Don't get me wrong the Andaz is a really nice hotel; good east end location, close to liverpool st, old st and shoreditch. really nice lobby and restaurant, our double room was really small and noisy. Wouldn't go here for leisure again although for business it would be fine. Very comfy bed!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbob_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We had checked into another hotel (Novotel, never again) and after one night wanted better accomodations. Our expectations were exceeded. Andaz staff was very attentive, reminded me of the Four Seasons or the Ritz. Complimentary mini-bar, juices in the lobby, very spacious rooms. Our rate was extremely reasonable - we stayed last minute on a weekend. I am more than happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_callanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

What an excellent hotel. We were greeted with smiling Receptionists, all with laptops, to book us in,. First impressions were very warm and welcoming. All staff we came in contact with (i.e. Reception, Waiting and House-keeping) were efficient, friendly, well groomed, and polite . Our room was extremely comfortable, quite and very well appointed with all amenities. The location was very good for the Underground and there is a taxi rank virtually outside which made travelling very easy. We were in London to celebrate a wedding anniversary and had a super time. Our stay at the Andaz helped to make this a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowyiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Well worth £200 - included a great breakfast, staff brilliant, huge comfortable bed, no London traffic noise

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z1GSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#49 of 1,078 in London
1,058 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#476 of 1,078 in London
487 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#374 of 1,078 in London
1,092 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,078 in London
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $209 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London
Andaz London Liverpool Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing