We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and attentive staff - first concern is the guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #126 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

First the gripe. Arriving back from the theatre at 23.00 on a Thursday night there was nowhere we could get a quiet relaxing drink. The Champagne Bar was open until 01.00 but was dreadfully and unbearably and raucously noisy. We were directed to the bar areas of other restaurants in the hotel, but they couldn't serve us because they were booked for functions. This would put us off staying again - nowhere for a quiet moment we thought. However Andaz reception staff reacted beautifully and found us a glass of wine or two in the quiet lobby area. That resolved our problem nicely. Our room was spacious and the bed and quilt were super. But it is the outgoing staff, whether room attendants or reception that make this a five star experience. Amazing to have you name remembered. Great to have the door staff looking to help. Wonderful to have a nice conversation with the team member who remembered that we'd been to the theatre and asked about the production. This team is well-trained, guest-centred and highly motivated. I stay up to 200 hotel nights a year, and this was memorable for all the right reasons - a lovely way to use my Hyatt Goldpoints too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crwydryn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you so much for this fantastic review following your recent stay. We are thrilled to read about the level of service you experienced from our staff which was able to make your stay memorable. I will share your review with my team and make sure all your comments are taken into account. We would be delighted to welcome you back upon your next visit to London. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,802 - 1,808 of 3,448 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you like beautiful hotel in accessible but quieter location, with great gym and wonderful employees, this is the new brand for you, the Andaz. I am not employed by Hyatt or the Andaz, I just love to travel with family. We stayed at this hotel for one week. Our very large suite included complimentary Nespresso (fresh milk), along with loads of healthy snacks & chocolates. Loads of closet space and best of all, the room was quiet, as I had requested. The sower and amenities provided were spa quality. The gym was perfect-- same treadmills as I use here, tons of equipment & free weights and clean towels and fresh apples (nice touch).
The hotel provides complimentary snacks and a full espresso bar in the lobby which.
The staff males 100% effort to please their clients.
I love this hotel!!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and the fulfilled this request....we had a city view as well, right over li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audreynherboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay, what a great review! I am very proud of my team and the facilities and will ensure that your kind words will be passed on. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your room and our level of service and I am pleased you noticed our attention to details. We hope to see you soon again at Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've only stayed over at the Andaz once and I don't have a lot to say about it. It's very luxurious, particularly the main hall and when you walk in your room you will be greeted in style (tv, lighting, the works). The room in itself was great but I had some trouble with the shower/bath. It is a wee bit dangerous as they are quite high and it feels like you are stepping off a horse when you are putting your feet on the actual bathroom floor. And I am quite tall (5'10'') so I can imagine how it feels like for shorter people. I also wasn't lucky with the choice of room because I kept waking my boyfriend up both times I got up to go to the bathroom... the floor was very creaky, very loud and creaky. Overall it is very nice, the room service was really great. I just didn't like the bathroom situation. Safety first, comfort second. I am not sure why it is so pricey in comparison to other hotels who charge about the same or even less for a bigger suite.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloiseEliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Andaz. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the service of our staff which I will make sure to pass onto our team. Thank you also for the comments about the bathroom which is very helpful and will be passed onto our Engineering team to keep in mind for the next refurbishment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to Andaz Liverpool Street. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The hotel is very simple and chic and you are filled with a real sense of calm once you enter. The staff are extremely friendly and cannot help enough. The reception is low key and relaxed which provides a refreshing experience. Another refreshing aspect is that, unlike many other hotels, there appears to be an endless list of complimentary items. Wifi, electronic newspapers, coffees and juices from the lobby bar, non-alcoholic items from the mini bar (yes really!) and more.

The rooms are simple and tastefully furnished with everything you need. I particularly liked the bathroom which had a great selection of toiletries and a HUGE bath. The bed was super comfortable. The iron and ironing board we requested were brought promptly by the staff. The only thing that was lacking was plug sockets, I could have done with a couple rather than one and I like to have one near a mirror to use a hair straightener (I think many hotel rooms are designed by men!). However, I did not find this a big problem.

My husband had breakfast with colleagues in 1901 and said it was exceptionally good.

The thing I liked best about this place was that it is in Liverpool Street, but is as quiet as the village in Sussex where I grew up! - I slept extremely well for this reason.

I would certainly recommend staying here and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wise1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you very much for this fantastic review following your stay at Andaz Liverpool Street. It really made our day reading how much you enjoyed our service and the hotel and I will make sure to pass this great feedback onto the team. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for a night for a romantic getaway in London. The service was excellent. The reception is very neat and the rooms are simply great. Everything is of high quality and the bed is incredibly comfortable. We almost didn´t leave the hotel.
Would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brasoygard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are so happy that you have chosen Andaz Liverpool Street for your romantic getaway and that you had a great stay with us. We really appreciate the kind words on service and will ensure to share this with our team. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon again. Best regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Enjoyed a very comfortable stay for one night. Upgraded as not busy which was a nice thoughtful touch, I wish more hotels would do this. Room was large and very modern with smart technology and extremely high quality furnishings. Loved the huge bed with excellent linen, best sleep experience in London. Yes the drainage system can be noisy but not a real problem. The restaurants are good although 1901 is expensive for the quality of food, could be better. The cocktails are perfect and the drinks reasonable in price for this type of hotel. Some good areas to relax and have a civilised drink. Staff are super friendly and very well trained. It is a well managed hotel. Location is good if happy using the tube, anywhere can be accessed in 10 minutes. We love staying in the city of London, even at weekends, it has a quality feel about it and much quieter than the west end. Definitely well worth the weekend rate, looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us following your weekend stay. We are very pleased to hear how much enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel’s restaurants and look forward to welcome you soon again to Andaz Liverpool Street. Best wishes, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Enjoyed staying here. Good location, large room, comfy bed, and incredible service. Love the happy hour with molten wine, and the front desk is great at recommendations/ anything you need. Would recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kms22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing Andaz Liverpool Street for your stay in London and thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your Andaz experience and the mulled wine which was served as a Christmas treat in our Lounge. We hope to see you soon again during your next trip to London. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#50 of 1,077 in London
1,069 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#53 of 1,077 in London
2,061 reviews
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#488 of 1,077 in London
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $241 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London
Andaz London Liverpool Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing