We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #129 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Traveling to London for work, I choose the Andaz because of it's location. The service is fantastic, they really try to take care of everything for you. For this I was really impressed.

The rooms are really nice, and include beverages and light snacks, which is great. Every hotel should do it, it's such a great amenity at little cost to the hotels. There is also free wifi that works well throughout the building. The hotel is just across the street from the Liverpool station. There is a grocery store across the street as well but it does not stay open late, and lots of coffee shops, and places to grab quick meals nearby as the location is close by many offices.

My only complaint was my room, the air control was broken, and blowing out cold air. They gave me an extra blanket and space heater. By the end of the week, the problem seemed to have been fixed. I feel like they should have offered to switch the room, but at least they attended to all the issues quickly.

I ordered room service twice. The food is presented nicely and it comes quickly, but I did not like any of it except for the Tiramisu. All the other food, though of good quality, did not taste very good to me. The Japanese restaurant in the lobby is quite good, and low key. Otherwise, Duck and Waffles is a fancier restaurant 2 blocks away, it is also very good.

I visited the gym. It is very nice, fully stocked, and new equipment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing Andaz Liverpool Street and sharing this feedback with us following your recent stay. We really appreciate the great comments about our facilities and concept and especially our staff as they go above and beyond for customers. We sincerely appreciate the feedback about the air conditioning which we will pass onto our Engineering team to look into it further. Thank you again and we hope to you to welcome you back to Andaz again soon. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,781 - 1,787 of 3,345 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

There is a lot to like about Andaz: central location ( city of London financial district bias) and fantastic amenities( 5 restaurants,gym,complimentary wifi & soft drinks).Any regular hotel guest would recognise these are critical attributes.On top of this,there is genuine service innovation: iPad checking/ out with no need for paper & the offer of complimentary drinks.Unquestionably, the way forward for contemporary boutique hotels .Also ultra frirndly staff throughout- a universal warm welcome from anyone encountered.Only one gripe: the bathroom plumbing: it works fine but the toilet mimics an airplane loo and the sink pump rumbled noisily.I imagine that this design flaw must frustrate as the Hyatt team are delivering excellence in all other aspects of guest service.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigrossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you so much for this great feedback following your recent stay at Andaz Liverpool Street. It is really great to hear your comments about the Andaz concept which is truly unique and your kind words about the service which we will pass onto our staff who do a great job at the hotel. Thank you again and we hope to you to Andaz again soon. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Andaz -- was my first time at an Andaz property, and I like the concept! It has a cool boutiquey vibe, while being elegant and comfortable. It's great that the rates include complimentary (non-alcoholic) mini bar with snacks, evening wine reception, as well as fast and reliable wifi. After usually feeling nickel and dimed at hotels, it's refreshing that the rate includes these small extras.


Overall I liked the design of the rooms -- a nice mix of modern and traditional. The room was a nice size, as was the bathroom and closet area.

The service at the hotel is excellent. There is no traditional front desk; instead, there are a number of ipad-equipped staff members at the ready to help you. All the staff with whom we had interaction were polite and helpful.

The hotel's location is better for business than tourism, but nonetheless it's very conveniently located just steps away from Liverpool station.

While I would certainly stay at the hotel again given all the positives, there are two drawbacks that keep me from giving the hotel a perfect rating. First is the plumbing. The building is older (though nicely renovated, which offers a lot of charm), and the issue with this is that the plumbing is very loud. You can hear sounds from other rooms, and within the room the toilet flush is so loud that in the middle of the night you may want to avoid flushing if you're with someone and don't want to wake them up.

The other issue is that some rooms -- mine included -- only have a window facing inside the building. The room got quite steamy after taking a shower, but without a "real" window to open, it felt stuffy. The positive of this is that (plumbing aside) the room was very quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cillierabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review following your recent stay with us. We love reading the great comments about our staff and are very pleased to hear that you like the Andaz concept with its inclusions and the overall facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future to Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Booked a Saturday night for my boyfriend's 30th birthday and what a treat it turned out to be. I had read some of the great reviews on here and everything met my expectations. We were greeted in the stylish foyer by a lovely young lady who checked us in and offered us a room upgrade and free bottle of wine - thank you! There were helpful porters about and a little bar area where you can help yourself to drinks and snacks which was a nice touch.

Our room was on the second floor and right next to the station but we were not bothered by any noise. We were kindly upgraded from a Queen to King size room which was perfectly spacious for the 2 of us. It had the usual 2 singles pushed together but it wasn't such a bother. The room was clean and stylishly decorated with plenty of wardrobe space and a large desk by the lovely tall windows. The bed was comfortable and there was a modern armchair and free refreshments in the bar - water, juice, soft drinks, tea, coffee and snacks. The bathroom was clean, spacious and modern with a good power shower over bath.

We did not have the buffet breakfast in the hotel or eat at any of the many restaurants attached but there is certainly a wide variety of options to choose from as well as within the local area on Liverpool Street, Bishopsgate and of course Spitalfields market down the road. I had booked a table for us at the Duck and Waffle in Heron Tower which is just across the street and the food was amazing, pricey, but worth the view and experience for a special occasion.

Overall a lovely experience in a stylish hotel which has still maintained the original building's features, with very attentive and friendly staff. The bottle of wine which was delivered to our room was accompanied with a happy birthday message, chocolate cupcake and postcard signed by the staff wishing my boyfriend a happy birthday which was lovely! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelbe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you very much for this brilliant feedback following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was able to make your weekend even more special and hope your boyfriend enjoyed his birthday at Andaz. We will make sure to pass your lovely comment onto our staff, they certainly do a great job for the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Andaz again soon. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the 4th time I stayed at ANdAZ Liverpool Street with a same good reason: it is always great to be here and there is also a good weekend discount too! Andaz is the hip brand of Hyatt and this brand operates in an entirely different manner from ordinary hotels. Receptionists, casually dressed in shirt-sleeves, are your hosts who check you in with an iPad - the only staff who wear jackets are the porters. The hall has no counter if to be different and more friendly, and at 6pm it serves wine and canapé to anyone. Rooms are ultra modern and really comfortable, with free minibar and snacks, also fast free internet, and free local calls. Service is about the best anywhere, in a homely casual manner. Two venues for breakfast, you choose between turn of the (last) century elegance or modern casual. Staff are all young and friendly, most even handsome. Everything is perfect to make a most pleasant stay. It is also interesting to see the renewed East London, with its own activities and night-life. The hotel is on the Liverpool Street Rail station which is virtually a shopping center in itself. I can fondly remember all my stays at this hotel, at first for a change, but now I can count myself as a satisfied returning guest.

Room Tip: This hotel is in the banking/business area with many office buildings and so it can be expensive on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you so much for this great review following your most recent stay. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoy the Andaz concept and really appreciate the comments on our staff which we are very proud of. East London is home to many up and coming designer boutiques, cocktail bars, restaurants and many galleries so please reach out to our Andaz hosts for recommendations. We are looking forward to seeing you soon again at Andaz. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Enjoyed our stay there and found the staff were extremely friendly and helpful (as in most Hyatt Hotels). Some rooms are very small and king rooms are much better that the queens so if you have a choice I would recommend a king.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small. King rooms are much better that the queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_a_fair_bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing the feedback regarding your recent stay at Andaz Liverpool Street. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed the service and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon to Andaz. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We planned a last minute trip to London in December. Booking 2 rooms for 4 of us. The hotel is not badly priced and definitely worth more! We were greeted by very friendly staff who checked us in with an iPad. This is convenient and meant that we weren't left standing in a large queue. We were offered complimentary drinks and snacks of our choice - and alcoholic beverages too. The hotel was beautiful. When we entered our room I was very impressed, for what we paid I wasn't expecting such a lovely large room. Being so close to a train station was a worry at first - but we did not hear a thing! The bath/shower room was really nice too. Although we did have a slight leak with our shower. Very pleased to have iPod docks. I would recommend to anyone! Fab weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely message following your recent stay with us. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and really appreciate the feedback, in particular on our team! We hope to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street in the near future. Kind regards, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#49 of 1,077 in London
1,047 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#433 of 1,077 in London
486 reviews
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,077 in London
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $217 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Splitty, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London
Andaz London Liverpool Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing