We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb all the way through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Ranked #116 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb all the way through”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Grand hotel offering a superlative service from check-in to check-out, spacious rooms, hi-tech facilities, fab restaurants (try 'Catch' fish restaurant), '1901' for fine dining, 'Eastway' and Miyako for delicate Japanese cuisine (in fact try all of them!), impressive gym facilities, tranquil secluded inner courtyard with soothing music and invigorating scent. Personalised service from Paco whilst checking-in who pointed out all the products and services available within the hotel, lovely staff caring and attentive without being obtrusive, loved the room service and of course the complimentary minibar selection and wi-fi (speedy and robust). City location ideal for the Shoreditch fashionistas and business travellers alike, thumbs up all round. Well done to the Andaz crew and Hyatt Hotels for this spectacular gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnauddeSaintExupery, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and you may rest assured that your kind comments will be shared with the whole team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With my best wishes, Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,012
    767
    205
    53
    37
See reviews for
401
1,253
251
818
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

great big rooms, minimalist but tasteful decoration, great restaurants and bars, trendy place to get an afterwor drink. Great check in procedure, and personalized attention. Located in Liverpool Street, great for business in The City

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for the great comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the concept which is unique to Andaz and most importantly the attentive level of service provided by our team. On behalf on the whole Andaz Team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Andaz Liverpool Street in the near future. Best wishes, Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the London Andaz in early January and as in the past the staff and hotel continues to impress. The staff was attentive and the room comfortable. We used in room dinning for dinner one night and they exceeded our expectations.
Made for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Important. We like the Andaz concept which is not your usual hotel experience. Their is no "check in desk" and no concierge. the managers fulfill that and more. Definitely works for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen_and_Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review following your most recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read you continue to enjoy your time every time you stay with us. Most importantly, thank you for the great comments on our fantastic team, I will make sure to share your review with everyone. In the meantime, I look forward to welcoming you back to Andaz Liverpool Street very soon. Best wishes, Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Booked myself this as a Birthday night out in London and it really hit the spot. Yes I have had bigger hotel rooms, but it was hardly small either. Lots of nice freebies in the fridge (non alcoholic) and there is a help yourself area in the foyer but I never got to use it as we hit the cocktail bar and town. Check in is charming - no desk, just ipads and you are offered a seat and a drink - it may get chaotic when it is busy though!
Had cocktails in the stunning bar - there are a number of different eating and drinking spaces, all with different characters, much unspoilt Victoriana among the modern refit. None of it is cheap but if the cocktails are anything to go by the quality is high. Anyway this is not a hotel for scrimping even though I got an amazing price via a certain website. Views across the station roof to me were extraordinary and it is so close to all your transport needs and all that is cool in the Spitalfields area. I have said very good value based on the price I got - it would be average otherwise but there is always a deal if you are canny!

Room Tip: I loved the view across the station roof tops but you may prefer a side street . I think I had a sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpg1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnauddeSaintExupery, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Andaz for your Birthday treat last month. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the Andaz experience and that you were able to appreciate historical parts of our beautiful building. We look forward to welcoming you back to Andaz again soon. With my best wishes, Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacarigua
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel, located in The City of London next to a major subway hub so excellent location, impeccable service, had an issue with my credit card when I arrived for check in but was still allowed to while the matter was resolved so I didn't have to sit in the lobby like a beggar lol, suite was modern and funky but understandably small as it is a very old building, so the bathroom was particularly tight, but extremely well appointed nonetheless. Last but not least, reasonable price for a London hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kofi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and lovely comments following your recent stay here at Andaz Liverpool Street. I’ll make sure to share your review with the rest of the team. In the meantime, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've hesitated a few seconds between giving this hotel 4 or 5 stars. Despite racking my brain I can't find anything to bicker about. Welcome on the lobby was friendly, coffee was offered and the staff told me I would have to wait a few minutes as they had other guests checking in. Simple but efficient as there's nothing worse than being ignored and feeling invisible.

My room was big compared to similar hotels in the category and the place is rather quiet. The hotel is modern and well designed but it has still generates good vibes and it is not "cold design". Service from the staff was really great and I'll gladly come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay here at Andaz Liverpool Street and for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were also impressed by the level of service provided by our great team. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best wishes, Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Reading other reviews, I feel bad giving negative feedback but I have to be honest. I had a weekend planned with some great friends from Uni (a weekend away from my 4 & 6 year old kids!) and we decided to treat ourselves to a decent hotel. The hotel was fine but do not bother with the champagne bar! Rude staff who told us they'd run out of bar snacks !!!!! We ordered a £58 bottle of champagne only to be told on check out that they'd added a £10 service charge that had to be paid. My friend paid it, but we did complain at check out and after some time we were told the "service charge" was indeed discretionary although my friend was not refunded. A silly mistake on their part. What a shame....

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Winchesterwanderers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazLiverpoolStreet, General Manager at Andaz London Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you review with us on this site. I was disapointed to read about your experience in Champagne Bar while recently staying with us. On all our menus it is stated that a discretionary service charge of 12,5% will be added to your bill. A bill should have been presented to you for you to sign off so I am sorry our team didn’t do so. Please rest assured your feedback has already been forwarded to the relevant team and that this is not representative of the usual level of service we provide. After investigation, the team have informed me that a refund of the service charge was made to the same credit card used to pay the final bill on check-out and that we have been in touch with you on this matter. Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street to show you what the hotel is truly made of. Best wishes, Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#38 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
City of London
196 Bishopsgate
196 Bishopsgate
#465 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz London Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz London Liverpool Street

Property: Andaz London Liverpool Street
Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Business Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz London Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay. Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Andaz London Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London
Andaz London Liverpool Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing