We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Crusting Pipe Wine Bar
Ranked #1,174 of 23,571 Restaurants in London
Price range: $21 - $33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: The Crusting Pipe sits in a plum position at the heart of London's famous Covent Garden Market and just minutes away from Charing Cross, Embankment, Covent Garden and Leicester Square Underground stations. Customers seated in the outdoor terrace can often enjoy impromptu performances from local musicians and actors, while the indoor spaces with vaulted ceilings and lots of nooks and crannies, provide an atmospheric setting in which to enjoy the seasonal British classics on offer. Look out for the popular afternoon tea options, pre/post theatre menus and interesting range of wines.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I met some friends here for a Christmas lunch. It was wonderful for us all. The service and food were excellent and of course the atmosphere just hit the spot. Covent Garden was very alive and kicking that day and so were some opera singers singing in the forecourt outside the restaurant. Covent garden is so central in London is it a great place to meet friends coming in from all sorts of directions. A reservation would be almost imperative to my opinion as the place is busy. I have been there in the summer too and found it to be just as enjoyable. One to recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnnyEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRP C, General Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review!
We aim to please whatever the season and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it in both the Christmas period and summer months.
We look forward to welcoming you back for more fun soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 551 of 845 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Food reasonably priced considering location. Starter and main course very good, cheese board overpriced and disappointing. Service was good. Staff friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gwynnie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRP C, General Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. Im sorry to hear you were dissapointed with your cheese. Our british cheeses are generally considderd to be of a high quality and its not nice to hear you were unimpressed.
We have recently adjusted the recipe for our cheeses and i believe if you come back to try them again this time you will be impressed!
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

An excellent find. Went in for luch on the off chance and found a warm welcome, good choice of food at reasonable prices and very efficient solicitous service. Will definely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Woodgavil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRP C, General Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We're very pleased to hear you will return and look forward to seeing you when you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

when ever in covent garden going here is a must watching the opera or quartet ... sitting watching the day buzz along .. for that i love this place !!!!! ...... how ever some thing that always always spoils this is the service ... slow slow and un attentive ... todays visit sat out side but the rain was starting to come through the roof ... usually would have stayed but group i was with were cold and hungry we decided to go inside ... waited an eternity for drinks to arrive .... ordered a sharing plate ... was ok ... when it came ... asked two waiters for more butter ,,,, in the end we got up and got it our selves ....
asked for the bill three times ...... in the end went and found a waiter to pay .... such a shame such a lovely place fantastic location nice selection of wines ... food was snack but ok all nicely priced .... service shocking .... why ????????????????????????????????

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joek99London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRP C, General Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

I am very sorry to hear your service fell below the standard one would expect when visiting us here at Crusting Pipe. We aim for every customers needs to be met in both a friendly and efficient manner and on this occaision it appears we let ourselves down, for this i can only apologise as without being made aware of problems at the time it is always difficult to fully ascertain what went wrong.
I do hope you return to join us again and allow us to redeem ourselves as, as you can see from other reviews on here, we generally deliver much better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is one of our favourite eating destinations in London. It is in Covent Garden and provides wholesome food, and good wines, reasonably priced (though not cheap - few places are in London) and perhaps best of all, a continuous cycle of musical entertainment from 'buskers'. These range from individual opera singers to string quintets. They always want your money (asking politely and humourously) but in truth, it is always worth a few quid. These are very talented people!

Thank ukingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRP C, General Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.
Next time you're in town ask about our wine of the month, always a delicious treat at a great price! As you say London can at best be described as 'reasonable' especailly in Covent Garden Market, but we strive to offer fantastice wines at a competitive price and our monthly specials are always a good example of these.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crusting Pipe Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Crusting Pipe Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing