We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking summer rolls!”
Review of The Green Papaya

The Green Papaya
Ranked #5,297 of 23,024 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East End / East London
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cracking summer rolls!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a bit of dinner and was not disappointed! Service was great - the guy running the place knew his stuff and even made me some tofu summer rolls as I don't eat fish - they were incredible. Light and fresh and perfectly balanced. Amazing.

I had a massive bowl of Pho for main - and couldn't finish it all! Huge and tasty. Lovely little place.

Helpful?
1 Thank bethannny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    34
    12
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best in town!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Super tasty food, all fresh and happy, super friendly service, great prices and one of the best and most surprising selection of dishes!
Lots of choices, lots of vegetables. They really do know what they're doing there (:

All of the above make me want to go to Green Papaya every time I consider eating out.
Try to book a table as it gets rather busy in the evenings...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irismtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
496 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Good surprise!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were on our way to another vietnamese restaurant on Mare street but saw that this place was buzzing so decided to stop there. We did well! The summer rolls were nice and fresh and my chicken Pho was also really good! Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrysteria64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great to go back to”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Having tried other Vietnamese in Hackney it was great to get back to the Green Papaya. The food was really fresh and tasty, lovely crispy squid with purple bsil dip and excellent beef salad. In future we'll stick to the Green Papaya for our Vietnamese fix.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Superb, Understated Vietnamese”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I came here for a light bite and was amazed at the quality of the food.

I shared a selection of starters including the soft shell crab (absolutely mind blowing- deep fried in a light batter then topped with crispy onions, bread crumbs, chilli and spring onion), fried sweet potato and king prawns (cooked perfectly with a delicious, light batter) the Vietnamese pancake (absolutely huge for an appetiser- filled with bean sprouts, onion, minced pork and prawn) and the mini-spring rolls (same as in other Asian restaurants).

Service was quick, efficient and friendly. The bill came to £30 including two glasses of wine- an absolute bargain considering the quality of the ingredients and the cooking.

I will definitely be coming back here to try out more of the menu. What a find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L_Smash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Papaya also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Green Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing