We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold, boring, tasteless food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Strada

Strada
Ranked #4,835 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cold, boring, tasteless food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having eaten at Strada restaurants before (Exeter and Canterbury) and never regretted it, we thought this would be a good choice for a quick pre-show dinner. The restaurant was packed but the nice, but harassed looking staff did find a table for us. What puzzled us was that the food (pizza and chicken breast) arrived at pretty low temperature. If it's this busy surely the food is freshly cooked? They seemed to be understaffed and maybe our food was ready for some time before it got to our table. The pizza had hardly any of the promised mozzarella on it, the parmesan shavings were difficult to find and the tomato sauce was very watery. The chicken had not much taste to it and the potatoes were quite cold. Our seat next to the window was very draughty. Overall a disappointment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    76
    35
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“very informal and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Good selection and prices very reasonable for the centre of London. We came upon this by chance. Italian food served very fresh and hot. Parmesan grated over pasta had not had that before.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonathan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Would eat here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

As with some other reviewers, generally try to avoid chain restaurants, but make an exception for Strada (& Cote, come to think of it!). Had dinner here late-ish on Sunday 9th Dec - restaurant very quiet - food very good, service efficient, polite & charming - which I have also let them know via the feedback address on the card the waiter gave me. My other recent experience was at their venue on the South Bank, which is a huge space & very noisy, though adequate for my needs then. I prefer their smaller venues, like the one here on Great Queen Street, & would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Meal before Top Hat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Just got back home after seeing an excellent show.
The meal we had before the show was also very good.
My cold pasta had to be changed to a new plate of Penne, I was very pleased because the problem was resolved immediately.
The service was excellent and the price of 2 meals with drinks and coffees was very reasonable

Helpful?
Thank archie481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Strada resturant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Plenty of other Italian resturants in the area, but this served good food, at a reasonable price for central London. Service a little shakey, and we were sat right by the front window, from which there was a (very!) cold draught. Loved the chilli prawns for a starter!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgal8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Strada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing