We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing - Used to be good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smollensky's on the Strand

Smollensky's on the Strand
Ranked #7,792 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: American, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Description: A London institution for over 20 years, Smollenskys on the Strand is situated in the heart of the West End - the perfect stop off after a hard days shopping around Covent Garden, visiting the open air cinema at Somerset House, a trip to the London Transport Museum or The Royal Opera House, are all around the corner.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing - Used to be good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have a family day in London every Christmas - shops, sites, and dinner. This used to be one of our favourites in early 2000's when it was styled as an American brasserie. We went back there last Christmas and it was disappointing in many ways.
- Modern nondescript decor with no character
- Very limited Chritsmas-time menu without warning on website
- Expensive but low quality food, kids disappointed with their chicken and beef burgers

The service was good and booking was easy. Just seems to have become a corporate entertainment/standard theatre place without any heart or soul :(

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    224
    165
    105
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great ambience but food is very average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The place promises more in visual effect than it can deliver in food. Saying that, as long as you are ready for that, then this place is great!

Average food with ok prices was great for us. THe cocktails were the winner though. Save up some pennies for plenty of them.

Personal recommend is the mac cheese with chicken and bacon! YUM!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I ate here at lunchtime and had the two course special for £12.95. I had a half rack of ribs starter and macaroni cheese as a main course. The service was good and the food was excellent. I would eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 15travels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We wait...and wait...and wait”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Me and my Mum went to this restaurant as part of a lastminute.com pre-theatre dinner deal. We arrived at just after 6pm and after half an hour of waiting, finally got the waiters attention; we ordered our food and didn't get it for a further half an hour!
It was lucky our show didn't start at 7.30pm otherwise we would not have made it.
The main course is a choice between a burger,macaroni and cheese or pasta.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keiranlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre dinner- a mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked this restaurant as part of a dinner and theatre package. Having seen some of the previous reviews we were a little worried about the time taken to get served and also the food. In actual fact the service was good and the food was fine. My husband had a nice burger and my pasta was also fine (maybe could have been a little hotter). However our next door table had big problems with service. They waited for 30 minutes before their drinks came and no sign of the food for a further 15-20 minutes (not good when you are needing to eat before going to the theatre). But to be fair to the staff, once this had been pointed out they did expedite the food and hopefully the couple made it to the theatre in time.
Generally there could be more attention to detail; no salt and pepper on our table, no ketchup or mayonnaise delivered with our friends late burger (we gave them what we had not used). So mixed feelings about returning here ourselves since there are so many other places around to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smollensky's on the Strand also viewed

 

Been to Smollensky's on the Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing