We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice little restaurant and wine bar very close to piccadilly and carnaby st”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shampers

Shampers
Ranked #1,961 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: European, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a nice little restaurant and wine bar very close to piccadilly and carnaby st”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had been to Shampers in the past and it was really good food, I returned with my husband over the Easter break and was not disappointed. The food is a mix of French cuisine with other types of cuisine (for instance, we went on a Thursday and had ginger squid for a starter). There is a fixed menu and then a daily menu which changes every day which is a nice touch.

The wine list is extensive and you have good choice for all budgets.

Would definitely recommend for the location and good food, also nice friendly and cosy atmosphere. Would recommend booking as it's not a huge restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    90
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
331 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

What a discovery! Absolutely brilliant. Amazing service, lovely prosecco, fab ambience. Totally recommend!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have been coming here on London trips for about 30 years, but the last few times it has been particularly good. Location just off Regent Street between Oxford Circus and Piccadilly. The upstairs was packed when we arrived about 1 pm so we add downstairs. Charming guy to escort you downstairs. service reasonably attentive. Daily fish specials were appealing for the three of us, accompanied by green beans. All nicely done. Good selections of wines by the glass, but the list of wines by the bottle makes good reading. It will be on our list for our next trip to London

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, let down by poor service - disappointing as it's always been one of my favourite restaurants”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We come here quite often and had booked a lunch-time table for a special occasion. The food was really good (as usual) and the atmosphere cosy, despite it not being that busy. However, the experience was really let down by the service from one of the waitresses. She just didn't seem to be interested. I had to chase for the wine I'd ordered during my starter, it still took ages, there was no apology, and in the end it arrived just as I finished the main course.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Birthday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a great lunch at Shampers on 22 March. Delicious unfussy food. A high point was the warm lemon tart. Relaxed atmosphere and friendly manager. A place to linger and enjoy yourself, not a quick fuel stop.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shampers also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Shampers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing