We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant is not just about the food”
Review of Le Boudin Blanc

Le Boudin Blanc
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Boudin Blanc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #329 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A restaurant is not just about the food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good food, not overly expensive considering its location but appalling surly, indifferent, lazy service and we would not return for that reason. Luckily we were dining with close family with plenty to talk about as otherwise we would have had a miserable evening.

They also operate a two sitting policy although we were not hassled to leave our table and there were free tables around us. We wished to book for 7.45 but were told we would have to book for 7.30 and vacate by 10 pm - that should have set our alarm bells ringing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    257
    75
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree
Level Contributor
134 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sometimes stroppy”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We eat here at least once a month, its always packed, we prefer to eat on the ground floor so we can see all the flash cars dropping off guests at the club opposite. The bread here is delicious and the food is good. I do not like meals served on anything other than a flat ordinary plate. Here they ofter serve it in those bowls (like soup bowls). Once when I asked the manager to change it to a plate he said they didn't have flat plates. He was lying and couldn't be bothered. Most times I have to ask for the food to be put onto a plate. When I do get the food, its good, fresh and well prepared. Cant remember a particular dish but we like going there. We don't usually arrive until around 10 as its booked up earlier in the evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilcoBraintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Mayfair choice”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Mayfair has its share of misses and hits. This place sits somewhere in between. Good food if not predictable, good service and average ambiance, depending if you sit upstairs or downstairs. We found it cozier upstairs. Nor pricey by London standards, but pricey by every other citie's standards.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zpd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice service and atmosphere. Average food.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The atmosphere in this restaurant is quiet and nice and the service is good. The Sommelier was very talkative in a very positive way. Prices are not crazy given the location but expensive for the food quality.

My starter was squid with piment d'espelette. You could have probably get the same in a canteen. Very watery, no taste. My fish was ok, but my wife did not like her. My friends had entrecote and it did not seem very tender or tasty (they did not make an comment and did not dare to ask). There was not enough sauce with their entrecote and when they asked for more they were given a tiny additional portion (which was charged as a supplement, which is a bit mean I think). Our wine was an enjoyable Croze Hermitage, wich was a good value for money.

Overall I think I will not return as there is definitely better in terms of food quality in London.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After a number of pub meals we were looking for a higher quality and lower quantity meal. We arrived early at about 6:00 pm and wondered if the restaurant was well frequented. We found out an hour later as it was packed out that many people appreciated a tasty night out. The service was very attentive and friendly. The natural oysters were lovely as a starter. The medium rare lamb was quite nice and we polished off the sides of snow peas, sautéed mushrooms and scalloped potatoes. The Scottish fillet steak was a little fatty but tasty with the red wine jus. The waiter made a good red wine recommendation which made the meal all the more enjoyable. On a warmer night we would have taken the option to sit outside. Inside was warm with a noisy happy atmosphere. Certainly a place I'd go again even if not on a business trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Boudin Blanc also viewed

 

Been to Le Boudin Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing