We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food again”

Santa Maria del Sur
Ranked #1,060 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Santa Maria del Sur, a cosy neighbourhood restaurant in Battersea, specialises in Argentinian steaks and wines. Enjoy a dinner in the rustic dining room, surrounded by earthy exposed bricks, polished floorboards and traditional paintings. Every Monday live music shows contribute to enhancing the South American atmosphere which is already strongly present within the ambience. A lovely place to enjoy with friends and family.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fabulous food again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have eaten here a couple of time before and were glad we chose to return.

The steaks are to die for. The meat is exceptional in quality and perfectly cooked. Having eaten steak at some other named restaurants in London I can say without reservation that Santa Maria beats them hands down.

We had our mains and shared a couple of sides such as salad etc and washed it down with a decent bottle of red. We were a bit disappointed with the 'entertainment' however. The restaurant has a singer/musician as a feature on Mondays but we could hardly hear him despite being only ten feet away and what we did hear was quite dull.

Thankfully the food more than made up for it as did meeting the couple on the next table resulting in an evening full of excellent food, great company and a few too many drinks - perfect!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaldivesJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    97
    42
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best steak in London superb faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Went after seeing on Gordon Ramsey. We went straight for mains (sirloin,rib eyes ,chips ,mash with pine nuts and coriander..lots of options..you can add gravy or sauce etc) perfect. Nice red wine and genuine home made puddings. A lovely warm toffee sauce that reminded us all of quality street penny toffee..
The steaks were cooked exactly as we asked for. The staff were un intrusive and the meal was not rushed, you could spend a nice relaxed evening.
We were so full up and recovering in the morning from the huge thick steaks. I can really understand why Gordon raved about the restaurant. It's not hype. A gem. They did ring earlier in day to confirm our reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank indie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As you would expect, great steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My GF and I had seen this restaurant some years ago on Gordon Ramsay's F Word, we instantly said that we must go there as it was 100% our type of restaurant.

Several years on from that TV show and we have now visited, and we weren't disappointed.

The first thing that I would say is that this is a steak restaurant, if you're taking vegetarians with you then you're probably better looking at somewhere else.

We went as a group of 5, the GF and I started off with a mix of the Empanadas and the Parrillada Deluxe to share which consists of 14oz prime Sirloin steak + 10oz prime Fillet steak + two Argentine style pork sausages + black pudding + provolone cheese at £27.50 each, it was simply superb.

The other couple in the group each had a Rib-Eye thet they said wasn't that great, it didn't seem particularly tender or tasty as a Rib-Eye should do.

General service seemed hard work with our waiter struggling to understand our requests and this resulted in one of the Rib-Eye steaks initially coming out Medium-Well rather than Medium-Rare. The steak was quickly taken away and a replacement cooked, however this of course took 5 or so minutes, hence I was somewhat disappointed to see that the steak was still present on our bill at the end.

All in all one of the best steaks that I've had, and I've had a lot...!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S3Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice spot with good steaks and good sausage, wine wasnt too bad either. liked this place and will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eamo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Really top evening. Great food, good drink, friendly and efficient service - all in all a really top night. I'd definitely recommend this place and will be back for sure - the directions from the website are spot on and it is very easy to find. The starters are AMAZING - of course the steak is good too, but that's no surprise at an Argentinian place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baggins_goes_bonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria del Sur also viewed

 

Been to Santa Maria del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing