We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad start turned around by great food”

Santa Maria del Sur
Ranked #1,095 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Santa Maria del Sur, a cosy neighbourhood restaurant in Battersea, specialises in Argentinian steaks and wines. Enjoy a dinner in the rustic dining room, surrounded by earthy exposed bricks, polished floorboards and traditional paintings. Every Monday live music shows contribute to enhancing the South American atmosphere which is already strongly present within the ambience. A lovely place to enjoy with friends and family.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bad start turned around by great food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Booked a table 4 weeks in advance for my birthday and received a phone call on the day confirming our booking. Upon arrival they said they didn't have a table for us. Not ideal, but 30 mins (plus free cocktails and snacks) later we were seated an ready to order.

Had the deluxe platter to share for ~£55 - 2 steaks, 2 sausages, black pudding and cheese. Enormous feed and very tasty! Would highly recommend.

Garlic chips were a welcome accompaniment to all the meat. Ordered pepper sauce but left untouched as the meat was so flavorsome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    98
    42
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have been here twice now, and neither time have we left disappointed. The steaks are excellent. There are nice wines available. We are likely to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mr_ashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Poor service!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Took my dad here on bank holiday Monday for his 60th there were 5 of us shoved on a table for 4, when I asked the waitress if we could move for more room it was a flat out NO? Considering we were the only customers there it seemed dissorganised I asked again and she couldn't understand why we wanted to move so I asked who I think was the manager he gave no communication back at all we were left waiting around none the wiser. Really bad service bad communication. Got charged for a liquor coffee when we only had coffee!, so won't be going back and I wont be telling my friends and family to go there. Desserts poor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good steak, ouch the price”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal with team from work and I must say it was good. Had been looking forward to this for a couple months and travelled in from Hampshire for it. Having seen it on TV some years back it got me hooked on Argentinian steak. Travelled regularly to Cologne, Germany where there is an excellent one. Santa Maria didn't disappoint in terms of the food. Colleagues had the platter to share which was perfectly cooked, tasting excellent and good size portions. I had the fillet and it melted in the mouth. Will only ever be for special occasions due to the cost of the meal and wine. Bit of cheek charging over £25 for a £5.99 bottle from supermarket. Great food, try it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yes_Chef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good quality steak”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our second visit and once again were thoroughly impressed. A small restaurant that does steaks very well. We enjoyed a very good steak, cheese and sausage platter. Well worth the money for good meat well cook.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria del Sur also viewed

 

Been to Santa Maria del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing