We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, friendly staff and very cosy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romna Gate Tandoori Restaurant

Romna Gate Tandoori Restaurant
Ranked #5,280 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff and very cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

It's been quite a few years since I've been here and I have been missing out...the food is so tasty, not heavy and decent value for money, the decor is lush and each table has its own private booth and the staff are friendly and take the time to talk to you. Will definitely be returning very soon

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ysm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We go at least twice a month”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Been going there with the whole family for years, great service, great food.

Prices are to be expected of quality food in suburban London, but the Murghi Masala (spelling?) never fails to disappoint.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent Indian food, friendly service and pleasant decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant for nearly five years, and it has been consistently excellent - much better than any other Indian restaurant we have found in the area, with an impressive menu and variety of authentic flavours and dishes. Although we now tend to order our favourites, we have tried a lot of items on the menu and have really enjoyed everything we have tasted. The waiters are attentive and friendly. The ambience is good, even when the place isn't busy, and we love the beautiful coloured glass that separates the various tables and booths. The food is reasonably priced, as are the drinks. We can't recommend this place enough, but remember to book during the weekend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonAsteroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food + great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice and been impressed both times. Food is excellent - significantly better than your average S Asian restaurant in London. Service great too. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beetrootlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I and my partner went to this restaurant twice and the food was really good so we decided to go back again. We were the only people there so food arrived very quick. We had a prawn dish with tomatoes.Tomatoes were nice, sauce OK but prawns were cheap and tasted like rubber ,they did not absorb any flavors at all. Having had this dish previously we though we will have a go at it again but left really disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank indre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romna Gate Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Romna Gate Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing