We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Yard

Salt Yard
Ranked #454 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Salt Yard is an award-winning bar and restaurant serving modern tapas inspired by the flavours & produce of Spain & Italy. The tapas are complemented by charcuterie and cheese boards and we have a wide selection of excellent wines and sherries. Flexibility is key to Salt Yard. Customers can enjoy a full spread of tapas: or come in simply for a glass of red wine and a plate of cheese, a coffee and a delicious pudding, or even just a perfect martini and a handful of Marcona almonds. Located in central London- a two minute walk from Goodge St tube station- we are perfectly placed for a business lunch, a pre-theatre meal or a night out with friends. The restaurant is also available for private hire.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Food amazing. Service great. I personally prefer the surroundings at Opera Tavern but thats personal. As a choice in london this will do me over lots of the "name" restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oriana100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    239
    58
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An all time favourite in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

One of my all time favourite restaurants in London. Tapas style dining with shared plates. Had a mid-week business lunch with two friends. Restaurant busy, booking essential. You must try the deep fried courgettes with honey, roast belly pork and iberico ham. Staff incredibly friendly and knowledgable. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank StephenWaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were lucky to get a table for two, as was busy on a Saturday, and were given 1 hour 45 minutes before the second sitting, which for a tapas meal was more than enough.

Be warned: order your tapas courses two by two to share (they are relatively small), otherwise your whole order arrives at the same time. As most are hot tapas, you have no choice but to rush through your meal.

We finished our 6 courses in half an hour. The tapas, amongst which the 'signature dish' tempura courgette with goat cheese, were tasty but not memorable. Rushing through the hot courses made the whole experience less satisfying. With 1 hour to go, we finished our wine with a cheese board, which was delicious. Maybe we should have thought about it in the first place...

Nice tapas, but for 145 pounds better to spend your money on a flight to Barcelona and enjoy local tapas at your leisure, with no rush and for a third of the price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a gem of a place and well worth seeking out if you like tapas. A colleague and I had a tapas meal and some Rioja and had a thoroughly enjoyable night out..........I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BertieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food but generally underwhelmed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I took a group of give from work for dinner; on arrival we were told our table wasn't ready - fair enough we were a little early. There was nowhere to have a drink in the restaurant so had to go elsewhere and then come back.

When we finally got seated it was like sardines in a tin - very cramped.

I'm not a miser but was staggered at the prices of the tapas dishes - £8 for one small dish is a bit strong; made worse when the waitress tried to tell us we needed around four dishes per person, she might as well have asked my permission to bend me over!!!!

Then the final insult was when we ordered additional food, the dishes arrived with short portions - not good.

The only upside is that the food is actually very good, not amazing but good.

Won't be back though, far better places in same region much better value.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Explosivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Yard also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Salt Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing