We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seated us on a busy friday night with no reservation. Great food”

Buenos Aires Cafe Blackheath
Reserve with OpenTable
Buenos Aires Cafe Blackheath is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,443 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Seated us on a busy friday night with no reservation. Great food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Both me and my partner work in the City and often eat out due to our hours being fairly sporadic. We headed over to Cafe Buenos Aires on a Friday night with no reservation after leaving the office late. We were seated promptly in what was an atmospheric, informal cafe. The service was prompt and although there was no sommelier, the wine recommendation was fantastic.

We decided to skip the starters and head for the main meal which consisted of 2 fillet steaks medium rare, humita, spinach and chips. The steak was around two inches thick which for some patrons may be a bit too much. It was cooked well and was complimented by the wine.

We were both very impressed and booked for a birthday party next month. Definitely a place to try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oliver h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    71
    10
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Sad to say the meat is no longer the great Argentinian beef experience I praised in my previous review. I suspect the steaks we had last week came from the co op.
The staff still have the same take it or leave it attitude which I can tolerate when the food is excellent but now the quality has declined I will not be visiting again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a restaurant, a must do in Blackheath”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

You only need a few words to describe this place, wonderful food, great wine, lovely service. But make sure you book before turning up. I visit this place every time my brother and father visit me, they just can't get enough of the steak and eggs.

It's great for evening meals, but if you simply just fancy something for lunch, the pizza is equally satisfying.

I really can't say anymore about this place, if you are planning to visit the area you must book a table here or else you have missed out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best steak ever”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited Buenos Aires at Blackheath for a family birthday meal and were totally impressed with the quality of the food. I had heard that Argentinian steak was the best and now I am in a position to totally agree.

The service was good, the range of starters, mains and desserts on the menu was more than adequate, but, the steak left me amazed. I don't think you could equal this anywhere.

OK, so it was expensive but you get what you pay for in life.

I would definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SE London's best steaks”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Solid Argentinian steak restaurant that never disappoints. Cosy atmosphere with good service and a nice view over Blackheath. If you book, make sure you get a table upstairs as downstairs is just a basement that could be anywhere. In the summer if you can get a table outside it's a wonderful place to spend an afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hungry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buenos Aires Cafe Blackheath also viewed

 

Been to Buenos Aires Cafe Blackheath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing