We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Four O Nine

Four O Nine
Ranked #12,425 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Price range: $39 - $51
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Landor Road
Transit: Tube: Clapham North
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

After discovering this place online, I took my girlfriend here for a Valentine's dinner this past year. It was excellent. Atmosphere was great. Service was perfect. Due to the occasion, the menu was limited to certain choices. I don't think there was a bad choice to be made, though. Every dish was incredible. Nice selection of Scotch. Although somewhat pricey, it was nothing to be unexpected given the caliber of the restaurant. I will definitely return!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prkr485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“21st celebration”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

It was my grand-daughter's 21st celebrations on a Sunday afternoon with 12 of us. Admitedly there were only 2 other tables taken, the service was excellent and the food superb. It has a lovely ambiance and pre dinner cocktails were taken at the lovely bar. Would definately re-visit when in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Attentive, friendly service, interesting menu, food well prepared and well presented. No room for a pudding then have a dessert cocktail! Can't speak too highly of this restaurant. On a par with Trinity in terms of food, and almost as good as Chez Bruce. Definitely should have a higher rating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"great greeting, great seats, great food..."”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

When you venture out to eat mid week you're never quite sure of what you are going to get, well, Four o Nine was just perfect. We opted for the November 50% off choice and splashed out on the wine. The service is friendly and we felt well looked after. The seating and spaces between tables is just right, and the music choice is great as well as being unobtrusive. Most importantly the food, good choices on the menu, reasonable gaps between courses, and we did opt for three courses.The food was cooked to perfection, and, the main course was lovely and hot which is a treat! Can't wait to visit it again when I return to Clapham North.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julescumbria1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good and interesting food, wellserved, comfortable restaurant,”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Finding the restaurant is the tricky part its above the Clapham North Pub, you enter via a small door and go up a flight of steps (which are outside and it was raining so i could not put up my golf umbrella!) Once inside it is a cosy and comfortable restaurant with a nice bar and helpful staff. The menu had a variety of dishes with an interesting mixture of flavours, very tasty, but ensure you order extra veg as quantities are "nouveau". The price was a more than expected £60 a head but we had lots of wine, overall everyone was very pleased. The souffle was excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alexBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four O Nine also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Four O Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing