We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely little restaurant, but bit chilly..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pierre Victoire

Pierre Victoire
Reserve with OpenTable
Pierre Victoire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #269 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $88
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Pierre Victoire Bistro has been established as one of Soho's most charming French restaurants since opening its doors to London in 1998. The classic French Bistro style décor complete with an eclectic collection of art pieces and chalkboards detailing the daily specials sets an inviting scene in which to enjoy a fabulous and very affordable French meal. Set menus are a prominent feature of this great little restaurant where a two course set lunch will set you back just £9.90 and the two course evening meal is a steal at just £12.90, both with plenty to choose from. Enjoy the restaurant's famous Steak & Frites as well as a wide range of fresh fish and seafood. The menus are changed regularly so there is always a delightful surprise waiting. Lunch times are ideal for an informal business lunch or just a long lazy afternoon with friends. In the evenings the restaurant is transformed into to a romantic restaurant where customers dine over candle light to music from one of the rather eccentric and charming pianists when it takes their fancy! The intimate basement lounge is available for exclusive hire at no further cost and can be styled to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 25.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely little restaurant, but bit chilly..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

lovely little restaurant found completely by accident. We was looking for a quirky little place to eat and found it. Lovely ambience, chatty informal atmosphere with attentive staff but not intrusive. The food for a lunch time menu was very good and varied and the wine was lovely in the surroundings of rustic tables and chairs with canvas paintings of France around the walls which were all for sale if desired. The only downside was that it was a bit fresh inside with a lot of people keeping their coats on to eat the food, perhaps its normal in that part of the world?, not sure if windows were open or the air conditioning was being used with a bit to much zeal but we will return again but maybe with a hat and scarf next time. :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VRH5466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    238
    48
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lively evening with good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I booked a family dinner for six to celebrate my wife's birthday on Saturday night. First impressions were not great. The restaurant is quite cramped and a bit rough round the edges. Not fine dining, but informal and bistro style, a bit noisy and quite lively although, to be fair, it was a Saturday night. But the service was very good. The staff were friendly and everyone enjoyed their food. Steaks, fish, various starters and deserts, it was all plentiful, very tasty and pretty good value for central London. We had a couple of bottles of Beaujolais which got polished off without complaints, and, when the time came, everyone in the restaurant, including the staff, sang 'Happy Birthday' to my wife and we had the obligatory candles! So, my impressions on leaving were much more favourable than on arrival and we're intending to go back (just the two of us this time) in a couple of weeks, for a pre-theatre dinner. Its probably not a place for a quiet romantic dinner for two (although during the week it might be quieter?) but it looks like we might have stumbled on a London favourite?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GomezandMorticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were attracted to Pierre Victoire by walking past the previous evening, after we had already eaten. The menu looked really good, whilst the restaurant itself looked busy. So we booked the following evening and we were not disappointed. It was again buzzing. Service was excellent, particularly when we asked to be moved from the rather cramped and VERY noisy basement (a party of fourteen having a good time). We had a civilised and mutually understanding discussion with the manager and we were moved within ten minutes or so. The food was excellent and plentiful, at reasonable prices and enjoyed by all the family. Little wonder that this restaurant is packed night after night; great quality is being served up all round.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really, really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent evening enjoyed here visiting our son in London. Superb meal and wonderful friendly and attentive staff. Will look forward to my next visit here.
They also own a sister eaterie just further down the same street PRIX FIXE which is very similar and a good option should Piere Victoire's be full, as it is fairly small, seating wise.
Go on treat yourself - you're worth it !!

James Wood
Bolton, Lancs

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaimealfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great set menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

went few months ago and had a great meal, which was excellent value for money. for starter I had a crayfish salad, which was very generous, and for main I had the pork belly which was incredible (and massive!) and came in a great sauce. Staff were very attentive and service was quick. Would love to visit again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParvinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierre Victoire also viewed

 

Been to Pierre Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing