We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstaning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 222 Veggie Vegan

222 Veggie Vegan
Ranked #311 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Hammersmith / Fulham
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstaning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was not excited about the buffet since I had looked at the menu on line but the food and choices were so good. Loved every morsel. Then ordered dessert, wow, the 222 Pancake was amazing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    175
    45
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazingly yummy and varied vegan food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Loved this restaurant! I found the menu really varied and would have tried every dish if I'd had the room. Great flavours and friendly staff. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must for vegetarians and vegans.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

After discovering their veggie and vegan lunch buffet, my friends and I went back three times in a week. The chef made a massive plateful of gorgeous food to accompany the buffet for my raw vegan friend without even being asked. Have some of the avocado salad from the buffet, the dressing is amazing. Super busy on Sundays so get there early!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I ate lunch here today with a couple of friends.
I've been here before and the food is great!
Lots of gluten free options.
Chickpea curry is yum!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value vegan lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

222 Veggie Vegan is on the North End Road about 10 minutes walk from West Kensington tube. The restaurant seats just over 30 people and the food is entirely vegan.

At lunch time a buffet is offered followed by deserts a-la-carte. It is very reasonably priced at £7.50 and this is on an "all you can eat" basis. A take away tub can be filled too, in this case £5.50, but it is much better value to eat in as you are able to have seconds, thirds ...

The buffet consists of two dispensing units, one for hot food and one for cold food. The restaurant was quiet and there was no queue for the food. Food in the buffet units was regularly refreshed with fresh dishes from the kitchen.

I ordered a carrot and apple juice with optional ginger. The sounds from the kitchen indicated that this was freshly made. It was very good.

The cold side of the buffet had four salads: mixed beans with carrot; a deliciously zingy beetroot and kale with cherry tomatoes; cucumber and tomato; and raw broccoli. All very fresh and very delicious.

The hot side consisted of six dishes: potato and sweet potato wedges; tofu and carrot pie; chick pea curry; chewy brown rice; fried bananas; and vegetable stir fry. These dishes were less creative than some of the salads. Pleasant enough but nothing special.

A range of vegan deserts were on offer with a couple not available on the day. I ordered the Wholemeal Pancake. This came stuffed with ice-cream and was swimming in a watery bath of chocolate and vanilla sauce. It was OK but really nothing to write home about.

During the hour or so I was at 222 quite a number of people came and went both for takeaways or for a quick bite. There seemed to be a number of regulars which speaks volumes for the consistency of what is on offer.

It represents great value for money - my bill was £16.25 - and gives no cause for complaint. The hot dishes probably could do with a little more thought and imagination though. Oh, and the place could really do with a lick of paint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 222 Veggie Vegan also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to 222 Veggie Vegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing