We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit once in your life but avg service”

St. John Bread and Wine
Reserve with OpenTable
St. John Bread and Wine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,208 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $102
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Cross street: Brushfield Street
Transit: Liverpool Street
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit once in your life but avg service”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I also agree with a few of the reviews on here. I had been wanting to try this place for ages - my favourite celebrity chef Anthony Bourdain proclaims this place to be his favourite restaurant in the world.

We arrived a bit early, told the hostess we were sitting at the bar. Our reservation was for 7:30 and at 7:40 we still hadn't been seated. Went back to the waitress and she (a bit arrogantly) said, "well you can sit whenever your ready". Okay then. Bread came, we asked for plates...the waitress says "we don't really do plates with bread here." We had a few quesitons about the menu and they don't really explain things to you, a bit confusing as all the startes, mains, etc are all lumped together. We asked her to suggest a wine under £40, she suggested one that was £49 and was good but even michelin starred restaurants respect wine budgets and don't push you to go over.

We ordered the bone marrow and parsely salad which I have to say was amazing. We split the rabbit pie which was also very good. Had to ask for water a few times.

I agree that you can't rest your success on good food, the service has to be up to par as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindsayMcInnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    168
    55
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachussetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great food , abominable service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were drawn to this restaurant because of the fame of the founders/chefs. In addition it has enjoyed good reviews by Trip Advisor and others. We had an exceptional meal. The food is imaginative, well presented with complex and very interesting pairings of ingredients.
However,the service we experienced was surly, unhappy and slow! We were seated at 6PM, their opening time. No menu was ready; we were offered water and served some delicious bread. It ended there. No drink order and the staff all went into the kitchen for a "conference" which lasted for 20 minutes. So all of us patrons were sitting at our tables observing this. Only after a 20 minute hiatus did the servers come back into the room. Even after this, my wife had to get up and go over to our waiter and ask for a glass of Champagne! We also, during dinner, had a bottle of wine from the Langueduc region of France. The wine wasn't "bad" but the unsavory aromas from this wine took a half hour to blow off!
The décor is minimalist:plain white paint walls. The barren oak tables are lined up in a grid so the room looks like a school lunchroom/cafeteria. Okay, so we get it, the food is the star here....just not the patrons! We won't return, great food does not trump unfriendly service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wrldtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“food fielday”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

best british food in london. i've been many many times and it never disappointed. varied menu depending on resources etc.

you must have the bone-marrow and parsley salad. and of course the welsh rarebit. I have even wandered into the bar to just have a pint with a slice of welsh rarebit. deliciouuus.

4 star only because of occasional faltering service. Waiters know the business and menu v. v. well but they can be pretentious. Also, because it's always so busy, food can take a while. On my last visit, my main took over 45 mins to arrive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bread and butter”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

St. John is a bakery downstairs and a restaurant on the top floor - both beautifully kept all in white with black lamps and brown chairs. The entrance is a bit hidden in a hallway so do yourself a favor and don't pass by it!
The design is minimal so that everything can concentrate on the excellent cuisine coming form an open plan kitchen. They brew their own beer, which I found out after asking for some, as surprisingly none of the guest had any (they all drank wine), so try it out!
The service is very good, but since each of available waiters is serving any of the tables when needed, it happened that the check of the previous guests was added to ours, but we got this resolved very quickly :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just as good, if not better.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We visited here for a second time and we were not disappointed with our evening meal. The food and service was excellent. If you really iike food, really good food, cooked to perfection then you have to visit. Two people would be best advised to pick items from the list (it is a list rather than a menu) and share, rather than pick a dish each - you get more variety this way! If I were to say this was fine dining, in the classical sense then I would be incorrect; it is in fact better, in my humble opinion. Indeed, I would not be surprised to see umbles on the card, such is the brilliant quirky Britishness of the fare. St John B & W is also ridiculously cheap and I would advise booking, there were no tables at 2030hrs on the Monday evening we visited.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ouhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John Bread and Wine also viewed

 

Been to St. John Bread and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing