We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst night out for ages” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Bistro - CLOSED

Harvey's Bistro
Price range: $25 - $50
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worst night out for ages”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

when handed in my reservation manager assumed it was some kind of voucher,tried to order sea bass and mixed seafood platter but was told voucher meant we had to have oysters and lobster.When he realised his mistake he apologised but said the food had been cooked so couldn't revert to opur original order Therefore had to pay £70 for food we did not want or did not enjoy will never go back there again what a disastrous night out for my birthday celebration.my wifes hard earned weekly wages wasted veryvery disssapointed after reading such good reviews aboutthis place - may be ok if you' a\ regular

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

A fantastic seafood restaurant offering a great range of freshly cooked fish and seafood, as well as some steaks, chicken and lamb; specialising Portuguese dishes. We had a party of 6 & all the dishes from starters mains etc were superb,fresh, cooked to perfection & tasted fabulous.The service was very friendly without being intrusive. A lovely cosy restaurant which we will certainly be going back to, we highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizaStony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, excellent quality authentic Portuguese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Superb quality food, everything is made from fresh. I ordered the vegetable toast to start with and the grilled sea bass with pine nut crust. Both came with beautiful sauces that had been tried and tested to perfection. The lemon cheesecake for dessert was incredible.

As well as that the value for money was excellent, atmosphere was lovely and old fashioned, and the service was genuine and non-intrusive. None of that awful and agressive "IS EVERYONE HAPPY WITH THEIR MEALS?" nonsense!

Thank you so much Villa Moura, I have not had unpretentious superb quality food like this in London for a long time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeirniadAnswyddogol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Villa Moura restaurant, Blackheath, London. Portuguese restaurant, serving fish, piri piri chicken, etc. Also great steaks. wonderful food. Try the Lobster Thermidor, you won't be disappointed. We have been going to this restaurant for many years, and have NEVER had a bad meal. Staff very friendly, good ambience. Nothing too much trouble for the chef, and waiting staff. Love it, you will too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelalot26London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I love love love this restaurant. I've never been disappointed after eating here. Excellent cooking.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sc0tslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing