We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but where else would you get such a view”
Review of The Narrow

The Narrow
Ranked #3,393 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: $32 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level Contributor
658 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Pricey but where else would you get such a view”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The view over the river and Canary Wharf was very special . The restaurant is in a sort of posh marquee round an old building which I think started life as a brewery and is quite cosy inside where drinks are served but the restaurant was a little drafty on a cold windy November evening and the roof of the marquee flaps about rather alarmingly . However that said it is a lovely place to eat
There were six of us and we all enjoyed what we had to eat , service was prompt and fairly friendly , plenty of choice on the menu , but it didn't come cheap
All in all would recommend but dress warmly if it is winter and expect a fairly large bill

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    325
    242
    164
    134
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Narrow , London”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Gordon Ramsey Pub/ Restaurant.

Lovely setting overlooking the Thames, excellent service. Food very nice , we have been several times and have not been disappointed .

Helpful?
Thank Marvin881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We take friends here from time to time because the view is simply amazing over the river, but the staff are not the most attentive. I also found out from a waiter (after enquiring what the ingredient list was) that they don't make their pies in the restaurant...Gordon Ramsey has them bought in to his recipe. Incidentally they could not tell me that was inside. The food is still good, but not something you would expect from such an establishment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Diabolical. Gordon Ramsey should take his own advice!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was one of the worst dining experiences I've ever had. We arrived 15 minutes early and were told our table wasn't ready so we went to the bar to get a drink. The bar wasn't busy yet I still had to wait for nearly five minutes for the bar maid to look up and acknowledge I was standing there. We then went to our table and were given menus which were completely different from the ones on the website.
We ordered and whilst waiting for the food I went to the toilet, which was shabby, dirty and had no toilet paper or soap in it.
I ordered Dorset Crab on toast as my starter and at £12 I was expecting something entirely different to the one small slice of white bread covered in what looked like pre-mixed tuna mayo that arrived. My husband ordered scallops with chorizo and cauliflower purée and again the hefty £14 priced tag promised a completely different plate to the two tiny undercooked blobs which were presented. We decided that we were not going to risk the main courses (29 quid for steak and chips!) when we complained to the manager he didn't seem to care at all. He just said "sorry you don't like it". There was no explanation just a robotic response. We felt that our complaint was just one in a long line for him and he just couldn't be bothered with it.
The food is poor and astronomically over priced the service at best is mediocre. My suggestion to Gordon Ramsey would be to take his own advice and get his own house in order before telling others where they're going wrong.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michala J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Marks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I would return!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice sitting, I requested a window seat which we got. Friendly laid back service... great food and cocktails.

I had the burger which was really yummy... good quality and really meaty. The chips were perfect too, crisp on the outside and nice and fluffy inside.

We shared the donuts for pud... the salted caramel sauce was delicious.


The expresso martini was lovely too and arrived quickly... in past experience, some cocktails take a while to arrive, but that wasn't the case here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Narrow also viewed

 

Been to The Narrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing