We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very slick, sleek, intimate yet buzzy”

Gaucho - Charlotte Street
Ranked #575 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Transit: Tube: Goodge Street, Warren Street
Description: Gaucho source the finest grass-fed beef in the world from Argentina, along with an offering of many other Argentine specialities which range from Latin American style ceviche to chorizo, Gulf de San Jorge lobster, Patagonian lamb and Argentine gambas to traditional empanadas and fine wine. We also offer the largest wine selection in the world outside of Argentina in our restaurants and guests can buy many of the wines from our wine boutique, Cavas de Gaucho on Swallow Street. With seasonally changing menus served across all of our restaurants, we also offer The Gaucho Lunch menu, either two or three courses, between Monday and Friday.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very slick, sleek, intimate yet buzzy”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Based downstairs for main restaurant, you enter a world with no windows, so whatever time of day, it always feels like the evening.
Great for relaxed business lunch meetings, noisy enough to feel feel like it's not a library, but quiet enough to be able to have good conversations. Well designed, lovely feel, very slick professional waiting staff, and the most outrageously lovely steaks, cooked to perfection. Similar in many ways to Hawksmoor (also brilliant), but differentiation is the more smarter crisper chic 'corporate' look whereas Hawksmoor is much more relaxed and louder. If you love steak, and love a more gentile, private dining experience, then this is definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MPM_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    170
    66
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
210 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Awesome Argentinian restaurant in Center of London”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The choice of this hotel was done because it was closeby our hotel at about 1 mile from Euston Railwaystation.
The staff is very friendly and the restaurant has several levels. We were based at the basement while the kitchen and the bar are located on the ground floor. Decoration is typically Gaucho and very trendy.
Our choice were the empanadas as starter then followed by tenderloin steak (bife de lomo, churasco = marinated tenderloin). All were grilled in a correct way and the sides were delicious too.
There is a sufficient choice of wines by the glace. I went for two glasses of Vina Patricia (from old Malbec vineyard). However I would appreciate if Gaucho makes regularly other selections of wines offered by the glass.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect Ribeye!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Enjoyed an excellent lunch at Gaucho in Charlotte Street taking advantage of the 2 x courses for £23 with a great bottle of Malbec to accompany the meal. Not our first visit and it certainly will not be the last – however, could be extremely expensive if not on a deal. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, well presented food, and, as always, the ribeye was perfect and cooked as per our request.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The food and wine are very overpriced for the quality.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

6 for lunch.
We were shown to a nice table in decadent surroundings with a buzzy Friday lunchtime atmosphere.
We all had steak, they were all average and 4 plates left unfinished. We all commented that we'd had much better else where. The sides are extortionately priced and are mostly inedible due to salt. The side sauces come in 2 tablespoon portions at £3 a pop. We had beers, two bottles of wine and 12 cocktails - all very overpriced. We had a dessert platter and cheese which were ok but nothing special. At a hundred pound a head I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minime88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great meal as usual”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I love this restaurant and out of all the ones I have visited this is my favourite!
Great food and drinks and the service was excellent.
We were given a free cocktail as it was our anniversary.

The only downside was they ordered us a taxi back to our hotel and it was a private driver who picked us up who asked us for a postcode and then got lost and what should have taken a 4 minute journey took 20! He got lost several times and then tried to charge us for it! So I would request a black cab!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nugenthorne_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho - Charlotte Street also viewed

 

Been to Gaucho - Charlotte Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing