We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Four Seasons Chinese Restaurant - Chinatown
Ranked #3,897 of 23,015 Restaurants in London
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Soho
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Visited the Four Seasons on Saturday 8th Feb for lunch having seen reviews on Trip Advisor. By 12.15 the place was nearly full but we got a table for 4 very quickly. Can't understand the comments about poor service as we were seated quickly, served without delay but were never hurried. It was my wife's birthday and we had a great time. Go for the mixed hors d'oeuvres as a starter, plenty there for hungry visitors to London! You MUST have the crispy duck with pancakes - really fresh and delicious, good helping too. For mains we had crispy beef, sweet & sour chicken and pork with cashews, we also shared special fried rice & vermicelli - all was yummy. Lovely touch to serve orange slices afterwards. Didn't have room for a pud. Wine was a fair price and the total bill for 4 came to just over £100, really reasonable for central London on a Saturday too. You're spoilt for choice for Chinese restaurants in Chinatown (!) but this was a real find. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meister-musican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    500
    254
    109
    191
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“waiter insisting on extra tip”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The service is rushed and waiters pay very little attention to their guests.
My partner's dish got served first and we had to wait another 5 minutes for my order to arrive.
We didn't want to use chopsticks, so my partner asked for a fork and a knife. He got only one pair, so I had to ask for another pair myself.
The bill is inclusive of 11% tip, but waiter insisted on receiving more, explaining that it was Chinese New Year. Got rude when we pointed out that the tip was already included in the bill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good rather than very good. ”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I've nudged this up to a very good due to accommodating service after we messed them around a bit with our numbers a few times.

The restaurant is quite small but they manage to squeeze a good few in. Don't eat downstairs, it's depressing.

I'm not really a Chinese food fan, so I'm not in a great position to comment properly. Suffice to say everything seemed decent, not overpriced, and lots of it. The waiter even advised against ordering too much food. It's well priced, and what wasn't eaten was taken away in boxes with us.

I'd be happy to visit the next time I'm over and try the Dim Sum menu.

Helpful?
Thank McFoieGras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food good - atmosphere not so much.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Various sites seemed to give this place a good reputation, and I can see why for the food. It isn't the nicest of places to sit and eat, but I've been in far worse in Chinatown.
With time to kill we opted for a set meal and were not dissappointed by hot and sour soup starter. Crispy duck course was a very generous portion, with plenty of sauce and pancakes.
The main course was rice, seasonal veg, crispy beef, chicken with cashews and kung-po prawns.
We were also given a free portion of bbq pork during the meal, which we were told is their specialty.
The prawns were fantastic, and the crispy beef was very good. The veg was essentially just pak-choi, but still ok. The bbq pork was amazing, melt in the mouth and full of flavour. I'd return for this alone.
The let down was the drink prices - £3.50 for a small can of chinese beer... Service is also added to the bill already, although the waiteresses weren't the cheeriest of souls, they were attentive and quick with drink orders.
For a £20 set meal, I think it was good value for money - the pork and duck were highlights. If you have the time and don't mind spending a bit more than you would in some of the other cramped buffets nearby I would say it's worth checking it out. However, don't go if you are expecting 5* service and lots of space!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“very good”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great food service was ok I guess when you come to London you don't expect the services to be excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liamjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Seasons Chinese Restaurant - Chinatown also viewed

 

Been to Four Seasons Chinese Restaurant - Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing