We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local Japanese with interesting specials”

WOW Simply Japanese
Ranked #4,287 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great local Japanese with interesting specials”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I have been a regular visitor to Wow! Since it opened c.7 years ago and continue to return as the food is so good. In addition they keep the menu fresh with an ever changing specials board (the tako su - octopus, cucumber, wakame seaweed in rice vinegar)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mancuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very good value sushi. Very nice cosy atmosphere. Quite a small place but this adds to the calming and friendly atmosphere. This night out will not break the bank!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Straightforward, tasty Japanese food”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

It's a pleasure to find an authentic but inexpensive Japanese restaurant so close to my home in Crouch End. The decor and the food are unpretentious, and the portions served are tasty and nicely presented, especially if one orders a bento box of meat, fish or vegetarian choices which includes miso soup, salad and fresh fruit. My quite large box presented succulent slices of beef with rice and trimmings; and all this with a bottomless cup of green tea came to £10.10, which I thought was excellent value. The atmosphere (customers permitting...) is easygoing and sedate, the service is efficient and friendly, and it's a civilised place to come to for a taste of very palatable Japanese food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Terrific food in Crouch End”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The food in WOW is excellent and very reasonably priced for such a high standard. The staff are polite and eager to please. The only thing that lets the restaurant down is the decor which is rather cold and hard. It is definitely worth visiting though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Number37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favourite eatery in Crouch End, both solo and with friends”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

WOW is one of those places that just works. I've had so many great evenings in there with friends, and it's also the best place I know for a solo dinner treat.

I've sampled quite a lot of the menu, but always end up gravitating back to the Wow Salad and Wow Roll. Or the agedashi tofu. Consistently excellent and yummy. And I always finish a meal there feeling nourished and pleasantly full instead of indigested and stuffed as can so often happen after a meal out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WOW Simply Japanese also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to WOW Simply Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing